We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I expected for an airport in SA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better than I expected for an airport in SA”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was quite pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff are friendly and the hotel is pristine clean. The breakfast is extra but it is a really good selection of buffet and hot food. The smallest gripe I have is that the breakfast opens at 6 am but you cannot order eggs till 6:30 but you still pay the same price. Little thing but meh c'mon... There were at least 10 of us miffed at this between 6 to 6:30. Anyway nice hotel overall and well worth the convenience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    615
    158
    31
    18
See reviews for
143
335
132
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here on three different occasions during our recent trip to South Africa. I would have preferred to move into the city, but we had so many different flights this just really made sense. It was handy for our friends to come and visit, and was attached to the airport so you could walk luggage over on a cart without going outside or crossing traffic which was great as it rained a couple of days. The hotel let us store bags there so we didn't have to drag all of our bags around.

The rooms were good. Showers were hot. There is a movable screen between the bathroom and the bedroom which was interesting. Buffet breakfast was good. I suggest booking this online as a bed and breakfast as when I did that I got it for about the same price with breakfast as I paid at the desk without. FYI you get a free hour of internet, but after that you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that our staff were so accommodating and that you enjoyed the convenience of being so close to the airport. We hope to see you the next time you pop into South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in City Lodge OR Tambo Airport twice in Dec 2013, once while waiting for a midnight flight from Johannesburg to Nairobi and a week later, while later while waiting for our morning flight back to Singapore. While the service at the front desk is not friendly, to say the least, it is not altogether bad as they were able to provide us the information we required.

We liked this hotel for its convenient location and clean rooms. It is very good for a transit sleepover and the walk from the airport terminal to the hotel is sheltered, well-lit, safe and clean. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It is a no frills hotel, but serves its purpose as a transit hotel well. The décor in the hotel was nice as well.

The breakfast buffet line had a good selection. However, the food was bland and a bit on the cold side. Opt for the eggs, if you want something hot.

Recommended if you need a quick rest while waiting for your flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasingDreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the clean rooms. However, we do apologize for the unfriendly reception experience. We will take this into account. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

If you need to stay at hotel in Johannesburg airport because of an early or connecting flight this is a great choice. Rooms are excellent 4 star quality, you walk 5 minutes to the hotel from the airport with your trolley, no transfer
needed, good breakfast and they serve light meals in coffee shop till about 10pm.
They give 1 hour wifi access free

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VIPTravelSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here while on wait between flights. Its very well located to the airport and is a 5minute walk with a trolley all the way.

Room was a good size and the bed was good , large and had clean linen. Floor could have done with a clean though. TV worked with a good selection of channels. Kettle with tea and coffee.

Bathroom was good and clean and a good size bath with a separate bath and shower.

There is Wiifi but its not free.

Curtain blocked out all the daylight when closed.

Check in/out was good and fast.

Cannot comment on the cost as it was paid for by our agent and did not us any of the other facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Normthefisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year - thank you for staying with us and thanks for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had never stayed at an airport hotel before, but with a baby and a 4 year old transiting through Jo'burg, this was certainly a decision we later really appreciated. For one night, the City Lodge was all we needed, comfortable, close and convenient. We even had a reasonable light dinner in the cafe/restaurant, as well as breakfast the following morning. Despite initially being reluctant to fork out for two interleading rooms, this was ultimately the right decision as it allowed for a good sleep for the whole family and some interruption-free packing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year - thanks for your comments; we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Intercontinental at Jo'burg airport previously and while it is excellent, its prices are exorbitant. If you just need a place to sleep between flights then the City Lodge is a perfect alternative, just a short walk from arrivals. Its restaurant isn't much to speak of and certainly can't hold a candle to the Intercontinental's, but it's good value for money. The fact that the City Lodge only offers 15 minutes of free wifi access and no ability to print boarding passes without paying a fee is annoying. Nevertheless we will stay there again for the convenience, comfort, and price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year - thanks for your kind comments. By the way, we have just quadrupled our free wifi internet at this hotel an hour per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing