We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive standard for "cheaper-end" airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Dartford
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impressive standard for "cheaper-end" airport hotel”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very comfortable, well equipped room in the easiest, stress-free transit location imaginable. Good sized bedroom and bathroom, all very well maintained. As we arrived late we ate dinner in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. The buffet breakfast offered an excellent choice of fresh fruit, breads, pastries, pancakes and preserves as well as continental and cooked breakfast items. The service was very good (which seems the norm in South Africa) and we felt it was a very good value stop over choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneGDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are chuffed that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    646
    160
    33
    18
See reviews for
155
349
136
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight between flights in southern Africa. My philosophy on transit hotels is that you want to maximize productivity and sleep, and minimize messing around between flights. The hotel is easily accessible within 5 minutes walk indoors from the arrivals area. However, the checkin process is ponderously slow. I have stayed here twice, and both times the wait in line and the time that it takes to check in once you reach the counter are painful. If this could be solved, I would give the hotel a four. The rooms are quiet, modern and large with a bath and shower, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable bed, and flat screen television with a reasonable channel selection. Internet was not provided for free with my room, and what I paid for was far too slow and subject to regular drops of service. The breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better views. Some corridors are very long and consequently some distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and will look into the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Safe place to stay for starters as you simply go upstairs and walk alongside the level 2 car park . Have stayed here 8 times in the last year and always the same .Rooms are a good size with desk and coffee table and always well maintained .Bar and restaurants provide a good range of meals and drinks and all staff are friendly and professional .Whilst you pay for the wifi ,any unused time carries over until used which is great if you know you are returning .Also have a limo service available for set prices which is cheaper than hiring a normal taxi service .Recommend highly .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks for your kind review - we hope to welcome you many times more as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The only real complaint I have is that the prices are a bit steep. Having said that, the convenience of being so close to the terminals more or less makes up for that. The alternative when one is without a car is to take a shuttle bus to one of the nearby hotels (like the City Lodge in Barbara road, which is a bit cheaper). But that is time consuming (the shuttles are one every 30 minutes) and a hassle when one has had a long day. I actually spent two consecutive nights here, on either side of a day trip down to Pietermaritzburg, and thus could leave all my belongings in the room and only take my laptop with me. Very convenient all in all and thus worth the extra price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We believe that we offer value for money when you consider the incredible convenience of our location within the airport precinct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

You can't beat the location. Since it's connected (via a very long walkway) to the airport terminals, you won't find a more convenient hotel for quick overnight stays while connecting.
I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were also nicer than I expected-large, clean, modern, etc. My only complaint would be that the check in process took 30 minutes, but that was mainly due to a large group being in front of us. I'll be staying here while connecting in JNB going forward.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tws1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Being as I have had overnights stays at a variety of hotels nearby ORT, I find this is, without a doubt, the best hotel to date for that quick stay. True, it is not the Intercontinental by any means, but you don't need the InterContinental for a single nights stay at ORT or its price.

This hotel provides everything you need for a comfortable short stay at the International Airport.

Location: A+ it can't get any more convenient than this hotel. It is a 7-10 minute walk from the terminal via a safe and secure area to the elevators where you go up a level to the hotel lobby (simply follow the signs in the terminal you don't ever have to leave the building). You can use the luggage carts until you reach the elevator and can then request the bellhop to assist you the rest of the way if necessary. Lobby is right off the elevator. Very clean and modern.

Reception staff was wonderful. Check in process was smooth and efficient.

Hotel Room: I had a "single" room with a large bed (if it wasn't a queen it was an XL double bed). Room size is modest but perfect for one person. I felt very safe here as a single female staying in the hotel. The furnishings are dark wood and modern and the room is tastefully decorated. It has a very clean feel. And although you are at the airport and above a parking garage it was super quiet, which I loved. Linens are very comfortable as were the bed and the pillows. Climate control worked well and was quiet. There is a tea kettle/coffee maker in the room as well as supplies for them. A flat screen TV is mounted on the wall opposite the bed and an upholstered chair as well as a table and desk round out the furnishings.

Bathroom was a little tight but has a nice deep tub and smaller corner shower but was very clean. Towels were plush.

Breakfast buffet: Yum! Everything from fresh omelettes to fresh croissants. Their buffet covers european, american and african style breakfasts, it was exceptional. Service was a bit slower but to be expected, I did have to repeatedly ask for coffee refills, but perhaps not everyone drinks coffee like water as I do.

Overall this hotel is the best bang for the buck at the airport and without a doubt very convenient. Only negative it is is smaller and booked out months in advance so getting a room here is not easy, but worth every effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel has nice rooms and very comfortable bedding. I am on a multi-country visit to Africa all going through Jo-burg and used the City Lodge as my hub hotel. Was able to check-in, leave bags for short period of time with the front desk. I would recommend for first time visitor to SA.

Hotel is undergoing light renovation with painting and exterior repairs but doesn't interfere with stay. The hotel is attached to the airport parking structure so there isn't really a 'front door' so to speak, just take the elevator to the lobby. Nearby casino to the airport. Also a short walk away from the international terminal's pre-boarding shopping centers and food courts. There is a Woolworth for sundries in the terminal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kachurka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing