We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too close to Terminals for complaining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Tsumeb, Namibia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too close to Terminals for complaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

City Lodge's biggest plus is the fact that you don't leave the airport to check in to your room, it's a hop and skip away from terminal A and there you are at the reception.
Very friendly staff especially waiters and waitresses, good restaurant and great breakfast buffet!
Rooms are stylish and well furnished, a bit pricey but I suppose it's okay seeing you don't have to get into a taxi and leave the airport for lodging. Good room service, clean neat and working air-conditioning.
Once again like all my previous reviews, shower facilities wasn't something to write home about, our shower leaked and the whole bathroom floor was flooded subsequently. Flat screen tv, coffee and tea facilities all the works.
Will definitely return

Room Tip: No idea about this, I'm guessing all the rooms are exactly the same except for presidential suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    586
    150
    30
    18
See reviews for
139
321
130
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed at this establishment quite a few times now over the last three years and I have no complaints except the 'systems' used for billings online and at the front desk. I don't blame the front desk staff who are helpful and friendly. This year I was checking in our group and paying for their rooms plus breakfasts. On check-in some had share twin rooms but there were two ladies who were given a double bed! I asked for that to be changed to share-twin, not a problem! At check-out I received the invoice for all rooms and breakfasts over four days plus my personal items, such as laundry and other sundries included. The invoice was a complete shambles and because of this I thought there could be mistakes. I wasn't wrong! It took 40 minutes to thoroughly go through everything where I found I had been charged for the original double room the ladies were allocated plus the 'share twin' to which they were reallocated. I can understand mistakes can be made but the invoice itself is a shambles especially for a group and is hard to decipher one room charge from another. Also the hotel offers a discount rate for weekends for groups and we stayed over the weekend plus a couple of week nights but it was not offered automatically or reflected in the invoice and I had to ask this rate even though it is in their advertising material at the hotel.
Having said all this I will still stay at this establishment again as I do enjoy the location, meals, rooms and the frontline staff themselves are always friendly and efficient. Hopefully the management will have had someone revamp their billing system so it prints out in an orderly fashion especially for group bookings/billing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review and comments - we will certainly look into the billing situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived in Johannesburg early in the morning and they had a room ready for us within a half hour--we were extremely grateful. The linens are nice and the room was very clean--all in all, a very good value. The front desk staff was very helpful and our room was maintained nicely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review - we're glad you like our hotel and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here quite often over the last few years as a night-over between flights. No taxi, bus or shuttle hassles. Short, safe and under cover walk to and from airport terminals. Staff always accommodating and friendly. Check in and out, a breeze. Rooms are nice AND quiet and the beds offer a good night's sleep. Great breakfast. This is the place to stay when traveling through OR Tambo.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room closest to reception. To save time in the mornings, settle your bill when c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks you for your comments about our hotel - we hope to welcome you as a guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's quite a walk to get to this hotel from the arrival terminal - and who thought you'd be glad to see a hotel that's built on a multi storey car park? But it's so convenient and much, much cheaper than the overpriced Intercontinental!
It's clean, clinical, efficient and the room was absolutely fine. (We didn't actually sleep, we simply needed to, shower, change and rest up between coming in from Windhoek and going on the Amsterdam some hours later.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstonJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments - we hope you can stay a bit longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

review, I have reviewed this hotel back in January'13.

Having stayed here a few more time since January'13 just to updated the review..

Gym is about average size for a hotel gym but clean and equipped well for a quick workout. Pool is really just a plunge pool nothing of any size. Staff all very welcoming and lots of! Hotel clean and tidy. 5-10Min walk to terminal.

Be warned of the bathroom showers, they ALWAYS leak onto floor. I always say something on check-out but nothing so far has been done. Apart from the leaking the showers are lovely!!

Room Tip: Put the bathmat & towel down on the floor before having a shower! If checking out before 6am, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for staying with us - and thanks for bringing the shower issue to our attention again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had two nights here in transit and found it to exceed expectations for an airport hotel. Beautiful lobby, giant breakfast buffet, pool, soaking tub, clean rooms, and a gym. Highly recommend it. Front desk staff left a little to be desired, but once you pass that barrier, it's very pleasant. Great to be able to get a good night's sleep at an airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgoseestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing