We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, Clean & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient, Clean & Comfortable”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had two nights here in transit and found it to exceed expectations for an airport hotel. Beautiful lobby, giant breakfast buffet, pool, soaking tub, clean rooms, and a gym. Highly recommend it. Front desk staff left a little to be desired, but once you pass that barrier, it's very pleasant. Great to be able to get a good night's sleep at an airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgoseestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    615
    158
    31
    18
See reviews for
143
335
132
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrived from Kigali, Rwanda at 1115pm having received exceptionally good service and genuine friendliness, a bit tired from a long flight. Clutching my reservation confirmation in my hand and knowing that I had phoned twice to confirm that i would be arriving late, I get to the desk to find out that they had given my room away. the "excuse" was along the lines of "yes we have your reservation but our inventory does not add up" whatever that means. Now I remember why i left South Africa in the first place. They then proceeded to offer, at my cost, to send me to their Barbara Road, off-shoot hotel 5kms down the road (which is probably where they send all their guests whose rooms have been given away.

Grudgingly, and after much insistence from me, they agreed to pay the taxi fare there and back in the morning. Only got into bed at 1230am.

Interestingly the next morning whilst in the shuttle, a couple in front of me are talking to the general manager on the phone complaining that there room had been given away having PAID for the room in advance! I asked what had happened and similarly they had arrived late from Tanzania shortly after I had been there, to find that their room had been given away. Running a respected lodge in Botswana he said that if a guest had paid for a room, received confirmation that the date was confirmed and arrived to find that the room had been given away, he would be sued. He was trying to get his money back.

Morale of the story? Pay a tiny bit more and check yourself into the Southern Sun, within earshot of the City Lodge. Never going back here and have told all my friends who travel there regularly to do the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gords48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Please accept our unreserved apology for this situation which appears to have been the result of an internal systems malfunction with regard to inventory management. It was our fault entirely and we definitely let you, a valued guest, down on this occasion. Once again, our humblest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I must say this is about the best airport hotel I have stayed in. We had originally been booked at the casino hotel and I am so glad we got bumped. Although our tour agency had only booked a standard double room instead of the room for 4 people we needed (we were traveling with our 6 year old twins), the hotel quickly resolved it and got us into two connecting rooms with twin beds for the kids, and a double bed for us. The beds were great, especially after all night travel from Brazil. We did not hear any road or airplane noise, not once. The ease of getting there is just perfect, too.

Breakfast buffet was tip-top, the people all friendly and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here overnight after late flight in. Reasonably priced, good location, quiet room. However, no bottled water in the room, no minibar (happy to pay for bottled water late at night), no free wifi apart from 15 minutes complimentary, and the signal was very poor. When I enquired at the desk for water, was directed to dispensing machine. This was ok, but very expensive, and after complimentary water for the last 2 weeks wherever we went, this was a surprise. Other issue was the shower unit leaked water all over the bathroom floor.
Overall, average hotel, but would prefer to pay a few rand more and get the essentials.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cewpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a good short stay airport hotel that "does what it says on the packet"!. Whilst slightly further from the terminal than perhaps the Intercontinental, it is nonetheless a well priced and comfortable hotel 10 mins (covered) walk from arrivals at Jo'burg. Staff are friendly and efficient (perhaps with the exception of one individual on the desk). Food good (excellent buffet breakfast and sensible menu for other times of day). Food itself was well prepared. Rooms are a good size and the bathroom has a decent size bath and roomy shower. Laundry facilities speedy and quite reasonably priced. We stayed twice during our travels in South Africa. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
313 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location
Located about 5-10 minutes walk from the airport main terminal area depending where one is coming from. The hotel is located above the car park but signage is clear to find the elevator to take you up. Just follow "general hotel signage" from airport and then at the car park entrance you will see the signage for specific hotels.
Room
The room is good value for money and offers a fairly African conservative decor and some modern fittings-it was clean and in good condition. The bed is large & soft and one can sleep very well with plenty feather pillows. The desk offers 4 kinds of plugs (SA, UK, Two Pin European and USA can work) all nicely laid out next to each other, there is a small lamp and large luggage rack. There is a safe and mini tea pot with 2 kinds of tea and coffee. No alarm clock though. The bathroom adjoins the room and has kind of "shop shutters" with a switch to split the two rooms in offering privacy, but useful when opened if say watching TV from the bath. The bathroom also offers a shower cubicle, water is hot and area is clean. Amenities are basic and minimal but include body lotion, shower gel an shampoo- also shower gap. The room also offers a opened double window that can be used as a balcony from within the room.
Facilities
There is a small pool in a nicely decorated wooden area with some beds and chairs to eat outside. There is also a gym with modern equipment but is small. There is also a restaurant and a cafe in the lobby that looked like a buffet but not bad. Told there is also a business centre above the lobby.
Staff
Staff are friendly - they booked me in on the day previous for some reason but were helpful in amending it and not charging me as it was their mistake. Generally though seemed helpful and nice, explained the facilities very clearly.
Overall this is a better-than-expected airport hotel room for day stay in between flights and was good value for money. If a similar situation arises I would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We're so glad you liked our hotel and hope to welcome you again soon as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great place to stay following an 18 hour flight or any other length of flight. Just a 5 minute walk from the International Arrivals area, all covered and lit. Beds are very comfortable and the Baths have both a soaking tub ( 6 ft long and deep) along with a seperate shower. Quiet.. Great Breafast Buffet offering quite a variety of fruits, cerials, breads Meats and eggs. Excellent staff. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grenville F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us - we look forward to seeing your again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing