We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option for a transit hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great option for a transit hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Most of the time we have to stay overnight in Johannesburg when we travel from Angola to anywhere, but this is the first time that we have stayed at the City Lodge. We have normally gone to one of the hotels at Emperor's Palace but this time we decided to try the City Lodge so that we didn't have to wait for a shuttle back and forth and I'm so glad we did! It's a short walk across to the hotel and you just need to follow the signs. There are always people around to help should you need it or are lost. You may use a luggage cart over to the elevators to the hotel, however you must leave the cart at the elevator doors and carry them the rest of the way. This was fine for us as we only had two safari duffle bags, but with much more luggage, this could be difficult. You could probably try and get one of the porters at reception to come and help, but someone would obviously need to stay with the luggage downstairs. It would also be very nice if the luggage carts that are left at the elevator could stay there for people who have checked out and are going back to the terminal. When we checked out the next morning, there were no carts in sight and we had to carry the bags some distance.

We had a double, non smoking room w/o the window to the bathroom. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room on the 3rd floor (top) overlooking the courtyard. The room was quiet and clean and had everything we needed for one night's stay. We had prepaid for breakfast the following morning since our flight wasn't until 11 am and it was a buffet with eggs to order. We left a small suitcase with the hotel to pick up on our return and I appreciated that service.

We also stayed on our return to Joburg and received a room on the 3rd floor. It was the same as the first room, however we purchased a 30 minute internet package and couldn't get decent enough wifi access to use it. It was very frustrating and not sure if it was due to the location of the room. The shower in the second room also leaked badly all over the floor, so some maintenance needs to be done to fix this.

So, will we return to this hotel? Yes, if we travel through Johannesburg again and we will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the top floor so that we don't have anyone above us. If we stay again, I wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcianluanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thanks for your review - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    657
    163
    33
    19
See reviews for
158
358
138
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I don't expect much from Airport hotels, and I'm usually not called upon to revise that expection. However, I was nicely surprised by the City Lodge OR Tambo. Walking distance from the arrivals terminal, a decent-sized, well decorated room and a very good breakfast. I was very happy to stay here and will recommend it to clients overnighting in Johannesburg in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMollerTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your review, we're glad to have exceeded your expectations and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here a week ago en route to Tanzania and was happy enough, though found their directions to find Hotel Reception from the Arrival Hall a bit challenging. Asked for a non-smoking room and got it. Arrived a second time, en route to Zimbabwe, at 12.30am and too tired to think of "non-smoking room please", made the long long walk to our room carrying our bags (no porters!) and realised in the corridor that we were in a smoking area! Too tired to retrace our steps we slept with the window open and the heating on high! YUK! The shower is another problem as the base is not angled right and overflowed under the door and covered half the floor. Happened last week too. The hotel is very clean and the Food and Beverage staff are great.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking if you are a non-smoker...they probably won't offer it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for your review of our hotel- we're sorry about the smoking room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We only stayed here for one night on our way to Botswana for Safari. The hotel was easy to find (you don't even have to leave the airport), room was clean and the food was good. I highly recommend it to anyone who is just passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here one night after arriving at midnight from Kenya in late June. My wife had arrived earlier in the day. Room was excellent, and breakfast the next morning was excellent. A modern hotel built on the top of the car park and accessed under cover from the terminal building, about 150 metres away.
My wife was a bit concerned about security in the area in the evening after shopping in the airport as there was a complete lack of people or evident security around in the walkway to the hotel lift. I only eat breakfast there and while my wife had eaten there in the evening she was disappointed at the limited menu available in the evening.
I think this hotel is more expensive than other City Lodges but still good value. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night due to a cancelled flight.
Great location and easy to find walkign through the main airport, connectced to the carpark.
At check in reception staff had no idea about the booking which was quite worrying.
After check their records they finally found it.
Overall rooms were clean and comfortable, food good and and check out was much better than the check in.
would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your review - sorry that here was a delay with your check-in, but we're glad the rest worked out okay and that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Where to begin? All the other reviewers have touched on exactly what this hotel has to offer! The City Lodge Group really knows how to maintain a standard across the country. City Lodge OR Tambo Airport lives up to all expectations! From the friendliness of the staff to the breakfast buffet. This would be my choice of hotel if either just landing in Johannesburg or waiting for a flight. Keep it up!

Room Tip: Be sure to grab their free "Nuffin like a muffin" on checkout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and took a muffin with you for "padkos".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
2.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing