We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right inside the airport - Perfect for a Transit stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Right inside the airport - Perfect for a Transit stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The other reviewers have said it all - it is an excellent hotel to stay at for an overnight transfer if you have a late arrival and an early departure. The hotel was better than I expected and the staff very helpful - what can I say, I would stay there again for a late arrival and an early departure - in fact, I would not think of staying anywhere else. But if you are in Jo-Berg for a few days then, have a look at somewhere like the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice at Melrose Arch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank American-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    615
    158
    31
    18
See reviews for
143
335
132
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Do not confuse this hotel with its poor dilapidated sister... City Lodge Airport Barbara Road. This hotel is really at the airport... the other one is not. To reach the Barbara Road property you need to take a shuttle that costs @$15 per person each way. Do the math and you'll see that this hotel is a much better deal. This hotel is newer and much nicer than the Barbara Road property. Plus.... It is REALLY at the airport. You can come directly from your flight... it is attached to the airport. You do not need to take a cab or shuttle... you can walk directly to the hotel. The rooms are larger than the Barbara Road's rooms and they smell much better. This hotel has elevators, Barbara Road does not. The grounds are nicer, you actually feel safer than at the other property. There is a business center with computers you can use for a fee. The only minus about staying at this hotel is that the hotel rate does not include breakfast. But, they do offer it for a fee and they offer free muffins and coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard... quieter. Although, noise did not seem to be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mambisa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lots of reviews and mixed for this hotel. There is another city lodge outside. Please do not confuse. This one is inside the airport and you just have to follow the sign. We returned from safari and we had an early morning flight to cape town. This was perfect and very comfortable. It has a beautiful restaurant and lounge. Rooms are large enough and you can extend your stay for longer hours with a little extra charge. We rebooked for another night for our last day of the trip.So we left our extra luggages there and on we went to cape town. When we came back our luggages were fine and no damage was done. We loved it and will stay again here. There are coffee and tea available. Bathroom was clean. Sheets were clean which we check first everywhere.

Room Tip: This hotel is for travellers who catch flights inbetween their vacations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was a great surprise, very nice, very quiet, clean, with everything you need, and a nice restaurant as well.

We arrived at 5p and left for Safari the next morning at 7, the dinner and breakfast were great, the staff good, the bedrooms perfect for a quick trip and good night's sleep after a long flight in!

At least $150 cheaper than the hotel next door, and just as nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike9000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Typical airport hotel which has the upside of being located within the airport but has the feel that it is part of a massive concrete jungle. Be prepared to walk along long corridors to get to your room, but I suppose this is the norm for any big hotel.The rooms are spacious and well maintained. Reception lacks oomph. The bar and restaurant area is pleasant. Parking is very convenient. Will return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSw312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments - we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Perfect choice when you need to stay just at the Airport. Walking distance from Terminal A & B, you don't need any transfer, just walk through the Garage and you will find the elevators to go to the hotel.
Comfortable rooms, big enough. Not noise at all considering that the hotel is just at the airport.
The only thing that I would like to improve is the internet access, they should provide at least one free access per room but instead of that you need to pay for the usage and for every device that you want to connect.
Definitely will come back if I have to spend other overnight at OT Tambo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we are constantly reviewing our wifi internet offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a short stay after the Justin Bieber concert in May, since we had a long wait for our flight. The distance from the airport to the hotel is in a walking distance (indoor) but becomes tiring carrying bags. Great rooms. Very modern and neat. The reception service isn't to reliable and fast. The food is of a minimal standard. This hotel is ideal for a short stay at the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrishkaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, South African Hotels, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing