We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for short stays”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I went to Johannesburg for a quick business trip, so as soon as I picked my baggage up, I only had to walk for 10 minutes to check in. The hotel is just IN the airport! I guessed the air traffic noise would have affected my rest, but I were wrong, my room was quiet. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy. The bathroom even too big, with shower and tub. I had breakfast, but didn't try most of attractive fresh fruit I saw on the buffet. I went there in summer, so they had to be very nice, unfortunately I was a bit sick, so I chose a safe hot tea with toasted bread and jam. I saw a pool, a small gym, and a huge hall, but it was just time to leave. Good quality, not so expensive...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xoraquattr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    631
    159
    32
    18
See reviews for
147
344
133
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Federal, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here on 2 separate nights before and after a visit to a game park. The rooms were comfortable beds were great and so were the pillows. Good breakfast. Limited food for dinner
but okay. Nice outdoor area around the pool. Very convenient and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities that we offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived after a late flight, was very concerned about our reception after reading some reviews but to my delight we received a very friendly welcome . Our room was spotless and very comfortable and we had a very good night sleep. Our next flight was early morning so did not enjoy the breakfast. I will use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunseeker172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel - we hope to welcome you as a guest agsin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is an ideal location for an overnight stay when flying in and out of OR Tambo airport. You don't have to leave the airport complex at all, yet rooms are quiet and you can be confident of a good nights sleep. The buffet breakfast is first class. Although the evening menu is a bit limited, it doesn't matter much as a wide range of eating places are available in the airport itself.

We spent 2 nights a week apart, here, and managed on the first occasion to leave a mobile phone charger. The hotel's lost-property system came up trumps on our return - such a pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: We had rooms in 2 different areas, and couldn't fault either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First stay here. Previous stays were at the Intercontinental. The City Lodge is by far better. Slightly farther walk from the terminal but worth it. Room was very modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also excellent. I did not encounter any of the service issues as a previous reviewer had. Overall a great stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptBoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

City Lodge OR TEMBO have the worst service in any of the city lodge chain in RSA

its rank 3 star but cost like 4 star and give 2 star service

getting food is a serious struggle ,the hotel mangment will do any effort to prevent you
getting food in reasonable time

laundry is only at 8:30AM if you came with a flight after 8:30 and leave the next day ,you basicaly can not get any laundry service and this is an hotel that call itsself a buisness hotel

the stuff in thee front desk never smile ,its seems they are under some sort of stress ,all of them always

Arik Amichay ,

Room Tip: dont take room that opposite the high way-you will never sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evans g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
217 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Previously, when entering S Africa on a late-arrival flight, I would stay at the Intercontinental (which used to be the only hotel ON the airport property). It was beautiful and luxurious, but expensive. The addition of the City Lodge was brilliant. To access the hotel just exit from the arrivals hall and cross the street to the rental car parking garage. The City Lodge is upstairs and down a long, long hallway, but the elevator from the hallway takes you right to the lobby.
The rooms (we had two adjoining rooms, one for our kids) were spacious and clean, and very reasonable priced. We booked the rate which included the buffet breakfast which was a good deal. The breakfast was terrific and the service was so very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatientX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon at this hotel or at another hotel in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, South African Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing