We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Airport Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions when I have had to stay overnight in Johannesburg to catch a connecting flight. Extremely efficient and pleasant check in procedure with very clean and comfortable rooms.Have never used most of the available facilities due to the short duration of the stays. Have never eaten in the restaurant because it is so easy to walk to the airport terminal for a meal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauPaSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night en route to Namibia after our South African roundtrip.

This hotel is situated on top of a multi-storey car parking where the rental car drop off is also located. The hotel is part of the airport terminal complex and a 5-10 minute walk from the terminal.

Fast, friendly and efficient check-in/check-out. They allowed us an early check-in. As each room can only accommodate 2 people, we had two adjoining rooms: one with a double bed and the other with twin beds. Spacious rooms with tea and coffee making. We didn’t experience any noise from the airport as the rooms were well insulated, but we asked for a quiet room away from the airport side.

Our rate included an excellent breakfast with lots of options. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Dinner selection was limited but the Greek salad and the ravioli ricotta were tasty and not expensive. You can also walk to the airport food court for more choice.

Nice courtyard with a small pool for a nice dip (water very cold in August) and sun beds. There are screens In the lobby showing the arrivals and departures of airlines.

A word of caution: Check-in for flights are a mess at OR Tambo, long lines and not enough counters to check-in. Very slow proceeding. When it was our turn to check-in, they were already boarding. Long lines also at security. A chaos. Take that into account and allow more than enough time.

Room Tip: Room away from the airport side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on quite a few occasions, always for 1 night, in or out of the airport and generally through Bid2Stay, because it's on the weekend. At B2Stay prices, this is a value hotel, but at R1200 a night, it's expensive, when compared to US or European hotels, especially as the rooms are very 'plastic' and the facilities limited. The restaurants are OK, but expensive and the staff not too well trained!! Breakfast, when there 3 months ago, was R95 ($12), very expensive. It's often easier, cheaper and you get a lot more variety, to take the 5 minute walk to the airport and eat there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

hotel, I stayed here on a few occasions now travelling as always part of a flight crew staying overnight.

The reception staff are very friendly. Hotel is very clean. Room tidy. Beds comfortable. Pool small but god for just a dip! The hotel does have a gym but never had time to use it or see the size of it.

Breakfast is excellent choice of food. Fresh cooked omelettes if you want. Continental or full English if you want.

Excellent location for the airport. Ideal on a transit stop or first/last night of a holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is easy to access and within the airport, there is no need to take a shuttle. Very well designed and an engineers dream.

Rooms are very clean with sufficient space. Staff is friendly.

Food wasn't very good and breakfast very over priced. I would recommend to eat in one of the coffee shops or restaurants inside the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldo_Tembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed twice at City Lodge over the holidays at the end of 2012 as part of transfers with the safari company Go2Africa. The accessibility to the airport is very good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are very good (though it requires extra work to get a second coffee) and we had a nice meal on New Year's Eve as the only guests in the restaurant. There were only really two negative experiences that make me lower the rating: (1) we had to move floors (after unpacking) after learning that the air conditioning on our entire floor was out of order, and (2) having housekeeping knock on our doors at 8:30 AM on New Year's Day ( the one day you really want to sleep in) asking us when we planned to check out and then mistakenly telling us check out was at 10 AM (it was really 11). Had it not been for these two problems, we could have easily rated the hotel as "very good".

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was in Johannesburg for just one night on business. Chose to stay at the City Lodge as I was arriving late and leaving early. The hotel is connected to the airport and is a 5-10 minute walk. If you are really uncomfortable walking an empty hallway beside the parking garage then know you will need to do this to get there. I did see cameras periodically. I arrived after 9. The restaurant at the hotel was closed and the food places in the airport were closing. So plan accordingly. I am guessing there is room service but I did not use it.

I asked for a quiet room at the end of the hall. It was quiet but quite the walk (I had to pass 33 rooms on each side). The room was clean and neat. It overlooked the courtyard. I did not hear any air traffic. The bed was comfortable. The only surprise was the free wifi was in fact a free 15 minutes. No more. Then you had to pay. To me, that is not free.

There was a buffet breakfast with a decent assortment of choices.

All around, an acceptable choice for a quick stop.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank In2exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
2.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $136 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing