We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently near airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Capetown
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Conveniently near airport”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here in September, the night before our flight. Our room was in a quiet wing of the hotel. The staff were very friendly. The room was a decent size, very clean. We had a good breakfast. We will definitely stay here again if we have to be at the airport early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapetownKoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly and our location convenient. We looking forward to welcoming you again at this hotel or another one in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    647
    160
    33
    18
See reviews for
155
350
136
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a perfectly adequate transit hotel for one night. You can walk to it from the airport without going outside. (long slope to pull the cases up, then lift to reception). Rooms comfortable and well furnished and clean. Good buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order. Otherwise the restaurant offering is pretty basic. We walked to the Intercontinental hotel (10 mins, mostly under cover). Quills Restaurant there is excellent for dinner.
City Lodge advertise a 'rooftop terrace'. Actualy it is more a 'roof well' as it is surrounded by 2 stories of the building. Quite pleasant if you manage to catch it at a moment when the sun finds its way in.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the airport. Can be noisy even with the windows shut
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank young grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very good location, just 10/15 minutes walk to international terminal, mainly taking into account the chaos in OR Tambo for checking in for flights.
Fast check in, even faster check out, 15 minutes of free wi-fi, connecting rooms necessary for more than 2.
Big bathroom with tub and separate shower. Clean but not spottless.
Didn't use anything, we had dinner and breakfast at the terminal restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsons Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Like any airport hotel, this one has the advantage of being able to walk from the customs area to the hotel. It took us about a 10-15 minutes walk including a (small) lift. Check in was efficient and rooms clean, well equipped but somewhat small. Food was good, with staff attentive to jet lagged travelers with unusual requests. Front desk was highly efficient with very good service provided for left baggage.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I spent a night here during a work trip that also involved booking a conference room for 20 people. Rooms were fine (modern and functional), breakfast acceptable. Clearly, the main attraction of this place is that you can walk to and from the airport within a few minutes, without actually having to leave the building. Regarding the conference room, preparations were smooth and on-time, staff was accessible and reacted flexibly to our last-minute demands.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our conference facilities suitable. We hope to welcome you again soon at one of the hotels in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The room was nice and clean. The location is the best when flying in or out on a red-eye. The restaurant was adequate, but better than airline food. I slept like a baby and walked to my early morining connector in a few minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesiwearshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was a bit nervous after reading the reviews on this forum as I was an elderly woman traveling alone. It really isn't that long of a walk from the terminal and it felt good to stretch my legs. The hotel staff were excellent. It does take a bit of time at the reception but just be patient. I stayed one night as my next flight was out early in the morning. On my return 4 weeks later, I had a day room from 8am-5pm as my flights had a 12 hours layover. My room was perfect. The bed was comfortable and I slept like a baby. I would say that they are so many City Lodge hotels in the area that I found finding the one online that is actually attached to the airport a bit difficult. The airport has so many restaurants and also a bakery that I ate in the airport and bought a pastry to eat in the morning. The room has tea service. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I had rooms on both sides of the hotel and didn't notice any difference. On the day room, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing