We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for early departures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Cape Town
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Convenient for early departures”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel provides the usual levels of City Lodge comfort an convenience. Well furnished rooms with a good working space and WiFi connectivity. The bathroom is good but like many new generation City Lodge hotels, the shower does tend to splash all over the bathroom floor due to poor door design.

The hotel is connected to the terminal via a walkway, making it an ideal stop over point if you have an early morning departure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    632
    159
    32
    18
See reviews for
148
345
134
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We used this hotel as convenient for an overnight stay between flights in Johannesburg.

The location is great, very convenient and accessible without leaving the airport.

Check-in was fine but then it went downhill. Our rooms overlooked the motorway outside - not a major issue considering the location. But the seal around the window was broken so the noise from the vehicles was very loud.

We were offered a change of room but it was a bit of a struggle to point out why I felt this was necessary. The new room was very presentable like the first but the bathrooms weren't clean - hair in the plug holes for example.

We went for dinner and were given a brief menu. Only about 6 dishes. When it arrived it was clearly a micro-waved dinner. My sons was inedible, my rice was only partially cooked. When I spoke to the manager he said all the meals were "pre-prepared"!! In fairness, we weren't charged for the food which was good. Nevertheless it was a very poor meal.

Breakfast was better. Standard buffet and cooked food.

Overall - if you need somewhere you can get some sleep before an early departure it's fine. Just don't expect much of an evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Like:
clean
friendly staff
good size rooms
spacoius lobby
separate bath and shower
Do not like:
smells from the kichen woke me up on the 3rd floor
my travelling companion was kicked out from his room without prior notice becouse reservations made a mistake

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonamejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabie, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Fast, friendly, efficient check-in and check-out. Good sized room and bathroom, with shower and a separate full bathtub – lovely, just needed the bubble bath. Hairdryer, tea and coffee station in room. Comfy beds, fluffy duvets and pillows, flatscreen TV with sport and movie channels and CNN. Restaurant and bar on site, and many restaurants at the nearby terminals. Can’t fault it, and always stay here if I have to overnight to catch an early flight. Follow “hotels” sign, directly above the international arrivals hall, go past the car rentals’ parking, and at the end use the hotel’s own lift directly to reception.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed overnight twice, once en route to Botswana and once on the way back.

I should say at the outset that my main reason for writing this review is that, on a previous occasion, we had stayed at another hotel very close to Johannesburg airport ( built as part of a casino complex) which was much less than satisfactory.

This is different. This hotel is part of the airport terminal complex and it is designed for travellers staying overnight. It is just perfect for that. I could not comment on it as a hotel for tourists visiting Johannesburg, or for business travellers because we did not want to leave the airport, just to have a comfortable overnight stop - and this hotel provided that on both occasions.

Convenience to the airport is unbeatable - it is part of the terminal building (if you are planning to stay there, email them for walking directions from arrivals to the hotel)!

It is clean and comfortable, with all facilities. Staff are pleasant and helpful, and the food is good (without trying to match top restaurant standards).

I can thoroughly recommend the City Lodge for an overnight stay at Johannesburg airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed one night at The City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport Johannesburg.
Although the location for this hotel is perfect, I found it a bit uneasy to get there. The signs send you out of the arrivals hall and go back into the parking garage where you have to go two escalators up with your trolley and then walk through a hallway towards an elevator which takes you to the reception of the City Lodge. Please note you are not allowed to take your trolley into the elevator.
I arrived late in the evening on an intercontinental flight and there were no other people in the hallway towards the hotel. Nor was there any security. This made me feel a bit uncomfortable.
The rooms are as expected from a “chain” hotel like City Lodge. All the furniture you need is there, a very good bed, coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with the basic amenities.
The next morning I had breakfast at the hotel. For R105.00 you can have a cooked and continental breakfast. There was plenty of choice and although most of the warm items were already prepared, the eggs are cooked fresh and to your liking.
This 3-star hotel offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Clean! Outdoor pool, basic gym. Internet was R30 for 30 mins. Security shutter between bathroom and bedroom a little strange. Can't do laundry if only staying one night. Comfy bed, good shower, nice size room. Breaky was a good buffet but had bad coffee/tea service. No clock radio. Only accept Rand currency which is very poor for an airport hotel. Freezing air con/heater in 1181 and communal areas - i got a cold from it and everyone was rugged up on 10/11 June. The heaters were turned up for my 29 June visit (room 2194).

Room Tip: ask for a warm one in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realistic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, South African Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing