We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good and really is right at the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pretty good and really is right at the airport”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Clean! Outdoor pool, basic gym. Internet was R30 for 30 mins. Security shutter between bathroom and bedroom a little strange. Can't do laundry if only staying one night. Comfy bed, good shower, nice size room. Breaky was a good buffet but had bad coffee/tea service. No clock radio. Only accept Rand currency which is very poor for an airport hotel. Freezing air con/heater in 1181 and communal areas - i got a cold from it and everyone was rugged up on 10/11 June. The heaters were turned up for my 29 June visit (room 2194).

Room Tip: ask for a warm one in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realistic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    645
    160
    33
    18
See reviews for
154
349
136
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

It is connected to the airport, but can be accessed by different level and going through the airport parking so you need to walk the area you may not want to be by yourself. There are guys around airport guiding you to get some tips, so watch out. Just follow the City lodge sign and only ask at the information desk. The hotel was really an OK hotel, nothing is great about it except the breakfast. They do not have an ATM machine nor exchange facility so you need to do all that at the airport before going to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a great, new hotel with very comfortable rooms. If you need to be at or near the airport, this is the ideal location. Good bits end there. The carpark is on the roof, you will drive 1km around in circles to arrive and leave - I promise dizziness. The service at the hotel is one huge trainee program. Too many staff, too little experience, and zero care for the world. You will pour your own coffee. You will have to hunt down your waiter for the check. You will have to queue in a line just to have your key reprogrammed (because they only set it to one night). Just wait until you pay the bill. Odds are its prepaid... Have fun getting the inevitable error corrected. Personally, the Garden Court is a better spot. Better service. Much better breakfast. And the shuttle is reliable and free. The Irish bar at the Garden Court is great! Pass on the City Lodge, and go elsewhere. Good service is easy to find.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank therefromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I had to stay over in Johnannesburg due to late flight arrival. Last year we did the same thing and ended up in a terrible freezing cold B&B which was dreadful. The City Lodge at OR Tambo was a 1000 per cent improvement - adjacent to the airport, clean and still quite new this was perfect. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the compact room had everything we needed including a lovely hot bath. The rate was not bad either - strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the Airport side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This modern, comfortable hotel is a great choice as an overnight stay when travelling through OR Tambo. There is easy access from airport arrivals. The room rate was good value for money. The only downside is that you can not get any food late in the evening, however there is a least one 24 hour cafe in the airport. The proximity to the airport means that you do not have to wait for shuttles or leave the confines of the airport . I would use this hotel again if transiting through South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The room was very comfortable and access to the terminal building is quick and convenient(around 10-15 minutes walk to the check-in counter). It is the perfect place to break a long journey - or to get some rest! The hotel is clean and well maintained and staff are pleasant. I bought take-outs at the airport terminal for dinner and didn't eat at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have used this hotel several times now for its value for money and its close vicinity to the airport terminals.

The hotel is situated within the airport infrastructure and is an easy 10 minute undercover walk from the International terminal. (past all the rental car companies).

Ease of pre booking via there internet site with various room options at reasonable prices.

The rooms are relative new and well appointed in modern decor. The only downside is no refridgerator or mini bar, but does have tea and coffee making facilities.

We haven't used the hotel coffee shop/restaurant as we usually get off our flight around 5.00 PM local time, midnight Australia time and crash into bed immediately. For breakfast, we head over to the Mug and Bean within the terminal at around 4.00AM local time for a full hot breakfast before checking out of the hotel at 5.00AM, pick up our car rental and exit the airport by 5.30am.........How good is that.

Will stay at this hotel again on our next visit.

Regards,
Vicki & Rob.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing