We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic option for a full day checkin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic option for a full day checkin”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was the most fantastic solution for us - after a long flight from Brazil, waiting at JHB for 15 hours before heading out to Perth we were exhausted. Being able to walk to this hotel from the Airport (really well signed/though the inside of the terminal) was so convenient. We didn't have a booking but the lady we dealt with at reception quickly arranged something for us and was so friendly!

Instead of paying for a full night, with breakfast, we took their day rate which was just on R600 - from 9am until 5pm. We asked for a quiet room (so we could sleep) and it was perfect.. crashed for 5 hours in blissful silence. The room was surprisingly spacious with a large bathroom (bath & shower).

You get 15 mins free wifi, and can pay for more. They have a pool (not suitable for laps), lounge, cafe and the airports literally a 7 min walk.

The hotel was really tastefully done (no direct impact as such but is worth mentioning) and super clean.

Again, the staff were fantastic - such a friendly country :)

For anyone with a long stay over in JHB, this place is perfect.. get horizontal and have a hot shower!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - we were in 3223 and it was lovely.. It was at the end of the corridor, so awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    646
    160
    33
    18
See reviews for
155
349
136
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed overnight at City Lodge airport hotel in May after our 14 hour flight from Sydney and it was perfect for this purpose. The next day we were flying up to Zimbabwe and we were glad we had booked for the night with breakfast prior to our arrival. It is in the airport building and felt safe after arriving in the busy terminal. I would have liked a bit better signage to help us find it but once we sorted this out it was just what we needed.

The staff were all very professional and courteous. It was convenient, inexpensive, modern and clean. We had a nice light meal in the restaurant in the evening, slept well and then an excellent breakfast in the morning before our connecting flight to Zim.

The size of the room might be considered a little small by some people but for the purpose of a stopover it is adequate. I would highly recommend it for a stopover for its convenience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012 and it is an ideal location for the business traveller due to its convenient location, meeting rooms and work stations in individual rooms. The staff were very pleasant. I have certain dietary requirements and the breakfast staff went the extra mile to ensure that my food was prepared accordingly.
I would definately recommend this hotel for a transit stop or business travel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Exactly what is says on the box. A one night over stop for travelers connecting over night at ORT. Bright, clean, cheerful rooms. Should like to see them tier rates per hour to accommodate short stays .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed here in September 2010 and plan a return trip September 2012. I found this hotel an ideal transit stop over. To access the hotel you walk through the multistory car park and not being far I would recommend any luggage not on wheels to use a trolly. The hotel was clean and new, Staff were attentive and our room was more than adequate. After being in a tented safari for 10 days the bathroom was pure luxury. Dinner at the cafe was nice, not 5 star but very reasonable price. Breakfast buffet was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhutcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

With clean, newly built rooms that offer everything you need, without a bus ride, this is my choice for transit stays at OR Tambo. Easy to get on the Gautrain as well for dinner in Sandton as the food is slightly lacking.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Platman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport is just at 5 minutes walk from Terminals . You follow the Hotel sign and take the Lift and you can relax.

They have got everything you need in this quite luxurious hotel. Rooms are spacious and nice with safe, bath, flat TV , coffee machine, international plugs and wifi. The restaurant offers complete range of food, the breakfast is sumptuous, the bar is comfortable.

You can relax in the swimming pool after some workouts in the gym. Conference room is available.

If you would like to go out for dinners, the airport food courts will offer you dozens of restaurants.

It is just by far the best place to be between stressful trips and the service is friendly and outstanding. ( surprising for a CITY LODGE !!!)

Room Tip: Be aware when Booking: this Hotel is not the same as CITY LODGE, Barbara Road, in Edenvale, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing