We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and conveniently located!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and conveniently located!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night after arriving late and before leaving on our afternoon flight to Namibia the following day.

The hotel provides free shuttle service (every 30 minutes) and is located a mere 5 minutes’ drive away. We were picked up from the Shuttle Pick-up Point located just by the side of Intercontinental Hotel – walk straight from the exit of Arrival hall through a brightly-lit alley (with the multi-story parking on your left) and you will see sign directing you to the Pick-up Point. Many people will be walking towards the same direction, so just follow or better still, ask.
We paid only £45 for our stay there and had booked through Agoda.com. This rate includes the room, breakfast and free wifi from the room. For the price which we had paid, we are more than satisfied with what the hotel has offered us. Our room was clean, quiet (we had one facing the pool), had strong hot shower and standard toiletries. Security at the hotel was tight, with gates to the hotel locked and guarded on a 24-hour basis.

The staff were polite, front desk tasks were efficiently handled and queries were knowledgeably answered. Breakfast was sufficient and of a reasonably spread of hot and cold choices. Eggs can be ordered but ours were not ‘elegantly’ done but still edible!!

Overall, we enjoyed our short stay at this hotel and have no qualms in recommending it to future travellers who need just a comfortable bed near the airport after a long flight in and a hearty breakfast before an early flight out. This hotel is very reasonably priced for the standards which it provided.

You get what you pay for and for £45, this hotel passes all the basic necessities test which one would have expected from it. That is why we have given it our full rating. If you want more, go for the Intercontinental Hotel just across the road from the Arrival Hall but be prepared to fork out £285 for a room for two!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Aviator was our layover hotel on our way to Botswana. The decor is hip Americana and I was surprised by some of the detail put into the lobby and the main areas. That said, the rooms were relatively simple. Our first room did not have functional AC, but after a little American pushy persuasion, we were relocated to a room with functional AC, but a slightly broken bathroom that seemed a little dingy.

In the morning we awoke to a full breakfast on the veranda and hopped on a shuttle back to the airport for our mid-day flight. This boutique hotel was exactly what we needed and exceeded our expectations for an 'airport hotel'. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaynaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here on way to Malawi. It's convenient for such a stop-over as it is close to the airport...free shuttle is available. Too close to the airport as the noise of aircraft interfered with sleep....I suppose that was to be expected. Rooms adequate with all usual facilities. Was looking forward to a dip in the pool. However, had to abort that plan as the water was dirty with a greenish algae-type colouration on the bottom. Most of my friends ( 11 of us ) were happy with the food for dinner in the restaurant. I had "surf 'n turf" which was average. Chocolate fondant followed and this was excellent. Delays in getting food to the table were unacceptable. Staff were friendly and apologetic. There was a good choice for breakfast. Management need to pay attention to the cleanliness of the pool and to the delays in food preparation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We found this an excellent choice for what we wanted - a short shuttle after a long tiring flight to a safe place, with a clean room, good food, friendly staff and free internet connection. It allowed us to recharge before proceeding on a long road journey the next day. It was exactly what we needed at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel didn't suit our demands. Although close to the airport, still needed a shuttle to go there. Feeling a bit precarious when arriving there during the evening. Rooms were spacious but not clean. Non-defined hair in the sink. Terrible night. Seemed that planes landed in the backyard of the hotel. In addition, the noise of the closeby highway was even worse. Breakfast was ok. Due to reasonable price and good shuttle facilities rated 2 instead of 1 'tripadvisor bullet'.

Room Tip: Please avoid rooms at the highway side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tango88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Would only suggest this hotel if you have to only sleep between a late night and early morning flight or tour connection. The hotel rooms are very small and comparable to inside staterooms on a cruise ship in terms of size. The bathrooms are also very small and the glass door of my bathroom required strong muscles to open and shut.
The location is not the most desirable and I would not reccomend leaving the hotel premises unless in a secure car.
The staff are very customer oriented an example being replying to my email queries very promptly. They were also very helpful on site. The hotel needs a major makeover as well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I attended a function held at the Aviator Life Hotel on Saturday. I was planning on booking the venue for 3 upcoming functions for my business. This is what I experienced. There wasn't enough food for the 200+ guests - more than half of the guests left not having any food!! the little food there was - was awful. There was only three starters per table of 10 guests and only one knife per table. There wasn't enough cups for the coffee and we had to stand outside in the freezing cold only not to be able to even get a cup of coffee let alone a plate of food!! there wasn't juice at one stage - then no glasses were available when the juice eventually arrived. I went 5 times to try and get something warm to drink and eat - but had nothing! When I went to the toilet all the ladies were complaining there was no toilet paper and the hand towel was finished!!! Everyone was disgusted and the staff was extremely unhelpful and arrogant. Unfriendliness everywhere and most unhelpful! Will definitely not hold my functions at this shocking venue!!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,071 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
2.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg

Property: Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg
Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing