We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare minimum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bare minimum”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Would only suggest this hotel if you have to only sleep between a late night and early morning flight or tour connection. The hotel rooms are very small and comparable to inside staterooms on a cruise ship in terms of size. The bathrooms are also very small and the glass door of my bathroom required strong muscles to open and shut.
The location is not the most desirable and I would not reccomend leaving the hotel premises unless in a secure car.
The staff are very customer oriented an example being replying to my email queries very promptly. They were also very helpful on site. The hotel needs a major makeover as well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I attended a function held at the Aviator Life Hotel on Saturday. I was planning on booking the venue for 3 upcoming functions for my business. This is what I experienced. There wasn't enough food for the 200+ guests - more than half of the guests left not having any food!! the little food there was - was awful. There was only three starters per table of 10 guests and only one knife per table. There wasn't enough cups for the coffee and we had to stand outside in the freezing cold only not to be able to even get a cup of coffee let alone a plate of food!! there wasn't juice at one stage - then no glasses were available when the juice eventually arrived. I went 5 times to try and get something warm to drink and eat - but had nothing! When I went to the toilet all the ladies were complaining there was no toilet paper and the hand towel was finished!!! Everyone was disgusted and the staff was extremely unhelpful and arrogant. Unfriendliness everywhere and most unhelpful! Will definitely not hold my functions at this shocking venue!!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My friend found a deal for this hotel on Booking.com and we stayed here the night before our flight. The service was polite and professional at the reception desk. They let us hang out even though we checked out of our rooms at 10am and arranged their shuttle to take us to the airport for our flight in the afternoon. Wifi worked well in our room on the 4th floor--get plenty of wifi vouchers from reception. Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed and great hot shower. They had a very nice breakfast buffet that was included in the room rate--very good coffee as well! My friends vouch for the pizza (from 54 ZAR) and chicken sandwich (74 ZAR) at the restaurant. Skip the vegetarian pasta dish--not that flavorful. There is a ShopRite nearby and my friend walked there during the day time, but it was not recommended that we walk there after dark. Overall, the $70USD/room we paid was a good deal considering the location near the airport, free round-trip airport transfer, good wifi, comfortable rooms, and very nice breakfast. Would recommend this place if you need a place to relax and reliable wifi before a long international flight!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is ok for a very budget option close to the airport especially as they can arrange free airport transports (not airport connected just nearby). The reception (photo shown on the website) is nice and the airline theme is clever but the hotel rooms are very basic and I really wouldn't want to spend more than a night there. The shower is a rain shower so hard not to get your hair wet and there is no door or curtain so the water floods the bathroom. You can't really walk to anything nearby but there is a bar and restaurant with limited menu options in the hotel. No obvious room service menu or anything although the website says there is room service. Must say though the staff were lovely. In particular one of the female managers who was particularly helpful.

BUT MISLEADING WIFI PROMISES
The website is also VERY misleading about wifi. I specifically booked a hotel that included free wifi so I could skype with home etc and while it is true you get free wifi it is only up to a very small limit (250mb or something) so it was not really usable. A communal computer is available in the lobby but not suitable for skyping family or for long periods. Additional access can be purchased but it is usually free at these kind of places. I would have rebooked at a different hotel except I had already arranged a pick up etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAussieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawalpindi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel theme is -Aviator and you can see aviation related items at the reception. overall it was a good hotel. It was clean, good people, near airport with shuttle arrangement. however you need to keep few things in mind;
1) The internet access differ in different rooms so please make sure you get the room with good signal strength,
2) In perhaps all rooms, there is a door which opens in next room (strange but true). May be this is not the case with all rooms but at least three rooms i was aware of had the same problem. you can easily open that room and go to other room. i do not know why this flaw is there,
3) in some rooms they do not provide fridge and microwave,
4) since this hotel is near to airport, you would have to spend lot of money to go to Johannesburg which is a bit far from there,
5) please avoid taxis arranged by hotel as they are costly,

Otherwise this hotel is good with good room rates, good food.

Room Tip: Already mentioned in review above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilyas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Hotel is close to the airport (5 mins) and has a free shuttle. We had our booking agent call ahead and provide flight info and were assured that the shuttle would be waiting. However, we waited for 30 minutes before asking a porter to call - turns out the hotel hadn't sent a shuttle after all! I'd recommend calling the hotel as soon as you get your luggage so that you dont have to wait long. Free internet (only up to 50 mb though). There is a computer in the lobby with free wifi as well. Breakfast was great - good selection.

Pros: Free airport shuttle. Free shuttle to the Gautrain. Free wifi. Nice shuttle and front desk staff. Rooms clean - good hot shower.

Cons: Long wait for shuttle - calling ahead with flight info didnt help. Walls/windows thin so you can hear outside noise. The hallways are a bit scary.

Reasonably priced. Value is in the shuttle and breakfast. Good hotel for a layover.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobertoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is close to the airport so ideal for a stop over, but would not like to spend more than one night there. The room was clean but theres no door on the shower , the water leaks all over the hall floor. The hotel is in a area of factorys so one night is plenty.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the price, but could be wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
2.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.0 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg

Property: Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg
Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing