We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived early morning after 20hrs of travel from UK and were welcomed with welcomed arms. Joy and Steve were great and very helpful. Nothing was too much and there were such a warm homely feeling. We also stayed at the end of our holiday in the area and it was like coming back to old friends. Rooms were very clean and comfortable...and even little bathroom treats for the girls... We even had a swimming pool to relax next to....what other backpacker has that!
I would def recommend this to anyone wanting a safe comfortable and relaxing stay. Under priced if you asked me! THANKS YOU SO MUCH FOR ALL YOUR HELP.... If we are ever back in Jo'burg..we will definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room with its own bathroom....and also the dorm room which had plenty of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Tanja,

Thank you for this wonderful review, and we would also like to thank you for understanding our check-in policy of 2pm, and that you were willing to pay for the early check-in.

It was a pleasure having you and your friends here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 110 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very happy there. Staff was friendly and helpful, made me feel at home.They are near Gautrain Station so visited Pretoria and Sandton without bother of having to make use of a taxi. Near Airport and Emperor's Casino.Enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hesterloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Hester,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Terrylin, and that the Gautrain was a worhtwhile experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I found Terrylin to be very cosy and homely, and was well looked after. It is very close to the airport, and I was picked up and welcomed. The staff were very helpful, and we were able to relax and recover from our trip. The Gautrain link to to Park Station and Sandton is within walking distance, and I was able to get around the area well.

Room Tip: Double room extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Hi Barbara,

Thank you for your review.

We were happy are you felt at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We arrived at the Backpackers at 22:00 after having called in advance to book and inform of our estimated time of arrival. When we arrived we asked if it was possible to leave at 3am as we were driving down to cape town the next morning.

The man immediately informed us that this was not possible because we would need to be let out of the security gate, even though one of our friends was staying behind and could have easily let us out by pressing the button.

We then asked the man what would be the earliest we could leave and he said 6:30. We then wanted a couple minutes to discuss if this was possible for us. But before we could even decide he informed us that this booking was not going to work for him and he kicked us out onto the street late at night and in a very unsafe area. Leaving us stranded for the night.

I am a well experienced traveller having stayed in various backpackers around the world and I have never come across such terrible service! I would never recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank KimTeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Our guests are very considerate and inform us of an early morning departure, when they MAKE the booking.

I am then available from 3am, or the time requested, to open the gate, for their departure, and they are very grateful, as most backpackers hostels, are not open for 24 hours, only hotels.

Under no circumstances, would we allow a guest to open the gate. This did happen once, when a guest, found the remote, and when I awoke, found the gate and front door security gate open, and the remote lying the driveway!!

The man did not feel comfortable, with your discussions, and suggested alternative accommodation in the area.

You also assumed that the area is unsafe. Excavations for a new hotel opposite us are being carried out, as this area has been earmarked for the aerotropolis.

Incidentally, another hostelowner, in the vicinity has left the gates open for over 15 years, without any incidents, but as a South African, I am fully aware of overseas travellers perceptions of crime, and they feel safer, knowing our security policy, which is one of our priorities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The only good thing is the location close to the airport, only 5 min drive,although you can listen the aircrafts early in the morning.

The room was full of old dusty things left by other customers almost no empty space, i'm not even sure that they change the bed linen everyday.

Noisy living room close to the room, and no heating.

They offer breakfast but it's really poor.

Not recommended even for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lautamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your review, as I take these seriously, and wish to confirm the following:

Terrylin offers budget accommodation for overnight travellers, at very reasonable rates.

We strive to create a homely atmosphere, and the rooms, linen and premises are cleaned on a daily basis. Compliments about the cleanliness are often received. I am unaware of 'old, dusty things left by other customers'.

Sometimes guests do make a noise in the living room, but are strict about the noise levels from 10pm.

There is an electric blanket on the bed, and heaters are available at a minimal cost.

The light breakfast you were offered, was complimentary, and consisted of cereals, bread, jams, tea, coffee, juice, joghurt and fruit.

I urge guests to consider the price, in comparison to star graded establishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at Terrylin's while in route to Namibia. It was an ok stay. The good was that they arranged airport pick up, and that it was close to the airport. They also provided electric blankets, as it was a cold night. However, it was very noisy all through the night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

We do try and keep the noise levels down from 10pm, and hope the guests will comply, as we understand the most are tired after hours of travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great B&B near the airport (pick-up available) run by a mother and son. Room is clean and comfortable, the kitchen is open to use and breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSWorldAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback -we appreciate this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#10 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Journey's Inn Africa
Journey's Inn Africa
#3 of 68 in Kempton Park
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Airport Modjadji Guesthouse
Airport Modjadji Guesthouse
#10 of 68 in Kempton Park
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#14 of 68 in Kempton Park
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel

Address: 2 Halifax Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range: $34 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrylin for Travellers has a three star rating and is a mere 10 minutes drive from O R Tambo (Johannesburg) Airport, and within walking distance to the Gautrain station. There is a bus stop around the corner on weekdays. A supermarket is nearby, and two upmarket hotels are in the next street. Located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood, Terrylin offers dorm, twin, double and family room accommodation.The dorm and twin rooms have communal bathrooms and showers. The dorm room has 3 bunk beds with night lights above each bed. All linen, including towels, is provided.The double room has a double bed, TV and en-suite shower. The family room has a queen-size bed and a bunk bed, with a TV and en-suite bathroom with a shower over the bath. All the rooms have heaters and fans and the twin, double and main bed in the family room have electric blankets. Children over the ages of 14 years are welcome. There is a communal lounge, kitchen, laundry and dining area. A sparkling swimming pool is in the large, well-established garden. Spanish bars and security gates offer added protection, although the area is very safe and secure. Visa, Master and Amex cards are accepted. A bedroom key deposit of R150 is fully refundable on your departure. Tours of Johannesburg, Soweto and Pretoria can be arranged.Please note that Terrylin is open from 14h00 and closes at midnight. The check-out time is 10h00. Steven and Joy will do all they can to make your stay a memorable one in a homely environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing