We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST excellent place in Johannesburg area”
Review of Le Chateau

Le Chateau
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chateau
Ranked #20 of 65 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MOST excellent place in Johannesburg area”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is an absolute gem tucked away in Kempton Park. Everything...absolutely everything is delightful about this place. Marius, the owner, will come pick you up at the airport upon request.
PLEASE be sure to arrange your flight so as not to arrive too late in the evening if possible.

Service is excellent and food wonderful. Maria and others will take wonderful care of you and will ensure the perfect stay. The atmosphere is great and peaceful, with beautiful garden on the premises.

There are a number of good places to eat nearby, which will be needed as the regular buffet/meals are not prepared during the weekend. You can be taken to these places upon request for a small fee. Good Internet available thru a service for a small fee.

I would not stay anywhere else when coming to Johannesburg. This is truly a home away from home...Why go anywhere else?!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Repe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

amazing place set in beautiful grounds in a very secure location, not far from the airport. Marius is a wonderful host, ensuring all our needs and wants were met. Great food, spotlessly clean and safe!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzini, Swaziland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was staying overnight with my neice who was getting married the next day and had requested to use the venue for her pictures. the venue is a wedding photographers dream as the grounds are beautiful. i arrived just before midnight as my flight was delayed (twice) and got a very rude reception from the night manageress. The next morning was no better as the Proprieter accused us of making noise into the wee hours of the morning (I distinctly remember everyone whispering and tip toeing around the place) and smuggling in hordes of people (the brides grandmother and mother arrived from a 6 hour drive and stopped by to say hello and drop off the brides cousin who was bridesmaid and was sleeping over there too) We were told that he couldnt afford to have his Dutch guests (who smiled at us the whole time) rate him badly! Seriously?? I loved the venue but wouldnt recommend it due to the bad service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phindile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Le Chateau is a "guest house" set on beautiful grounds (while we were there, high-school graduates used it for pictures and two weddings were scheduled for the next day) with a large dining area and conference facility.
Marius and his staff are welcoming and accommodating. They will arrange on site dinning if desired or order take-out if you which. Shuttle service to & from the airport is available with some notice and is approx. 20 minutes away. The B&B is located in a secured residential area but some distance to restaurants.
The building has old world charm and dates back many years with wonderful wide board woodwork, windows with antique frames and hardware and a charming old staircase. The rooms are small but comfortable with extremely well appointed and decorated bathrooms. Our only negative comment would be on interior décor with its over-sized paintings, plastic flowers and an overabundance of pictures which somehow takes away from the overall charm of the place.
A good place to stay, very friendly staff, reasonably priced and away from central Jo’burg yet within a short distance of the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackstoneNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Dependable airport pick-up and drop-off, great dinner, spotlessly clean modern rooms, great breakfast , and great value for the affordable price! Very safe secure area as well. This is my third year to stay here and I wouldnt think of trying elsewhere. I should add that the staff are wonderful too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amethyst-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Recommended this place by friends, when we needed close-to-Airport inexpensive overnight accomodation. They picked us up from the Airport (as arranged and at an apt fee) and made the return trip the following morning - 04.45 so that required commitment. Pleasant rooms - double with bath - in an old-fashioned Farmhouse (very traditional old European decor with lots of china displayed on the walls and hordes of family photos) and a secure Courtyard garden. Very good, yet simple evening fare and great breakfast (not this 1st Visit, but on the subsequent stay - 2 weeks later. Good, comfortable, reliable, safe, cost-effective choice for those where proximity to the Airport was important - fitted us to a T !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is a "guest house" type hotel which offers a quiet comfortable location very close to the Johannesburg International Airport. I used it for a 5 night stay during a business trip as my contact was in this area.

The owners and staff are very welcoming and the services offered are adequate for a short stop. B&B is the favoured option but evening meals can be prearranged if required. The rooms are comfortable and the general feel is of a "home from home".

If you are not familiar with the area and fancy a non corporate option then you could do worse than Le Chateau. They offer airport pick up and collection, there is a small bar for evening drinks and internet is available via on line payment. Upstairs there is a TV lounge if you want a change from your room.

All in all a very reasonably priced and comfortable place to stay although you will need transport if you are planning on going out and about.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SconieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
3.5 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,026 reviews
4.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
4.8 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
3.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
513 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau

Property: Le Chateau
Address: 62 Abel Street | Terenure, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing