We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunrock and Excellent Choice”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at Sunrock for 1 night after arriving in Johannesburg and then 5 weeks later during the day as a transit stop.

On both occasions we were collected by the owners in a comfortable transit vehicle and returned at the appropriate time for our flight. This service was excellent and timely, it's nice to be greeted with a smile by either of the genuinely welcoming hosts. Of note during one trip Arthur took a Maccau red and blue parrot with him which travelled on his shoulder - quite unique.

We arrived on a Saturday night for the first visit just in time for a Saturday night BBQ being steak, ribs and vegetables for a relatively low cost. We are particular with food and found this one of the best honest meals we had consumed during our 5 week African adventure. To qualify this statement we generally stayed at Safari lodges with 5 star resorts and in Egypt some Old Palaces. On our second visit we learned that Arthur and Ina were the owners of a steak house prior to this venture.

The rooms we stayed in varied in size and we would recommend you ask for a larger room. But I must say the cleanliness and crispness of the sheets were again very pleasing and of a superior standard.

I was overwhelmed arriving at Sunrock at night from Australia and experiencing first hand the security precautions in place at Sunrock in response to the environmental issues but this did not distract from our stay.

Other aspets to Sunrock are the internet, swimming pool, bar and pool tables and you easily feel like it's your home mainly due to the owners who easily make you feel at ease.

I cannot find a negative but remember Sunrock is a guest house and embrace it as such. If you want to stay at the Marriot then book in and be prepared for the $500Us per night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandshelley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2010

My cousin and I stayed one night here and loved it. The rooms are decorated well and are spacious. Ina and Arthur made us feel very welcome and genuinely were interested in their guests and offered advice and tips. This guesthouse is cosy but at the same time big enough so you do not feel like you are living in someones home! The breakfast was comprehensive and yummy with hot and cold items. The location to Joberg airport is great and the free transport to pick you up and drop you off adds a personal touch.

I would definitely stay here again!

Anusha (London)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anusha2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is one of the nicest B&B I have stayed in. The rooms are big and you have everything you need. The owners went out of their way to make us enjoy the stay. They also provide free shuttle between airport and guesthouse and even took as to the Gautrain for free. I would recommend them to all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Our family stayed at the Sunrock Guesthouse on our way to Mozambique and then again on our trip back home. We were very pleased with the accomodations! The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated and furnished. Ina and her staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. They picked us up at the airport upon arrival and dropped us off at the airport the next day. We would highly recommend the Sunrock Guesthouse to anyone traveling to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryStrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Rooms are basic but quite adequate for a night or two before or after a long flight. The owners (Ina and Arthur) are friendly and helpful. The free airport transfer is an excellent service. Be aware that other transfers are relatively expensive. We were dropped at the nearby station to take the new Gautrain to Sandton and were surprised to find a charge of 100 Rand on our bill. Dinner was not provided the night we were there but Ina kindly telephoned for home-delivery pizzas. It was enjoyable eating pizza and drinking South African wine in the company of other travellers from around the world.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at Sunrock when we first arrived in South Africa (traveling from the United States) and again, five weeks later, the night before our departure from S.A. Sunrock is located just a few minutes from Tambo International Airport and the owners, Ina and Arthur, offer a pickup and drop-off service from and to the airport. This is enormously convenient for anyone who arrives in Johannesburg exhausted from a long flight. Additionally, the weary traveler can eat a seven o'clock p.m. homemade supper in their outdoor "lapa" for just a few extra rand. This means that on the day of arrival a whipped traveler can be picked up at Tambo, whisked off to the guesthouse to freshen up, and later be fed a delicious, wholesome meal without having to navigate a strange city at night on the "wrong" side of the road on inadequate sleep. The rooms are sensibly furnished with nice linens, a roomy closet for storing luggage and sundries, and a small table with chairs. Everything was spotless. We also enjoyed talking with other travelers at breakfast and supper, especially other South Africans, who often stay at this guesthouse. We highly recommend Sunrock.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomo234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here after arriving in the evening at JNB OR Tambo Airport. Rented a car and drove here in the dark--the neighborhood around the guesthouse is somewhat sketchy, and the guesthouse has electrified fencing. However, they do have secure parking inside the gate.

This is an Afrikaans family-run guesthouse, and the husband and wife are very friendly, and the kids and dogs run around the property. Very communal atmosphere, which can be nice. Rooms were nice and had heaters, and were pretty basic, but clean. Breakfast is home-cooked by the owners and staff, and is made to order. Food was very tasty and filling. We drove to Kruger in teh morning.

Basically, I would recommend this guesthouse for a one-night stay, but not for much longer, given its location in a less-than-ideal residential/commercial area. But it will be a decent one-night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,318 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $75 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing