We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice family-run B&B near JNB” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice family-run B&B near JNB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here after arriving in the evening at JNB OR Tambo Airport. Rented a car and drove here in the dark--the neighborhood around the guesthouse is somewhat sketchy, and the guesthouse has electrified fencing. However, they do have secure parking inside the gate.

This is an Afrikaans family-run guesthouse, and the husband and wife are very friendly, and the kids and dogs run around the property. Very communal atmosphere, which can be nice. Rooms were nice and had heaters, and were pretty basic, but clean. Breakfast is home-cooked by the owners and staff, and is made to order. Food was very tasty and filling. We drove to Kruger in teh morning.

Basically, I would recommend this guesthouse for a one-night stay, but not for much longer, given its location in a less-than-ideal residential/commercial area. But it will be a decent one-night stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    374
    52
    4
    6
See reviews for
279
385
223
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

If you want quality for your money Sunrock is the place to go. The place is situated in a nice environment close to the airport, convenient for travelling and comfortable rooms. Armed with well trained staff who always assist with a smile on their face, never get irritated. They make you feel so at home... This is a place to be...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khuselo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night on my way to Botswana the next day. My room was large and comfortable, the shower was hot and powerful and the food was very very good. Excellent value for money and they even do free pick ups and drop offs to the airport.

Would happily recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharityRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Sunrock for 1 night. We knew we had chosen the right place while still at the airport. Arthur came to pick us up and gave us a very warm welcome. The room was simple but had all the basic amenities. Sunrock is located very close to the airport and it was exactly what we were looking for. We were surprised to find out there was also a bar area where Arthur makes a barbecue for his guests. We did miss it as we had other arrangements but would love to have stayed for it and enjoy Arthur and his wife's company. Breakfast is another plus. Fresh and well cooked. We would happily stay at the Sunrock again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tandu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We traveled with friends to safari. The owner Arthur met us at the airport with big welcoming smile. The property is close and convenient. We were asked to join them
for drinks and appetizers in the main gathering area. This started our trip off right and we had a lot of fun with Arthur & Ina that night. The hospitality continued as we stayed three days to gather our group. Nice hot full breakfasts in the morning & a great dinners
at night. These are very genuine people running a family business. We were treated like family and have extended an invitation to them to stay with us on a future trip.
Thanks again Arthur & Ina for making our trip complete.
Go Blue Bulls!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteandTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

5 mins drive from the airport; and the owners are very good about picking you up from and dropping you off ontime. Since it was all prepaid; when we arrived we went straight to our room (so no need for checkin like at hotel after long flight), and drop the keys back in the morning. Really good service, and nice, clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie99London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

we spent 3 nights at the Sunrock Guesthouse.
Our group was formed by 3 families (10 people).
The guesthouse is located in an excellent position only 15 minutes from the airport so it's a great solution both upon arrival in Johannesburg and/or before departure, furthermore they offer free shuttle from/to airport.
The rooms are spacious and clean, but, overall Arthur and his wife's hospitality has been really a plus ! They arranged for us great dinners (barbecues are delicious !!) and took care of organizing different tours of the city.
We really felt as we were part of the family !
We absolutely suggest this place: it will be always our first choice in Joburg !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoSilviaSusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 25 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing