We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Airport Stopover”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My husband and I flew in from the United States and after nearly 24 hours of flying we found Sunrock to be the prefect place to spend the night on our way to a safari. We were met at the airport by the very friendly Arthur and Ina and transported to their guesthouse which is about 10 minutes away. Our room was spotless and comfortable. After freshening up we met Arthur, Ina and the other guests in the lapa, an outdoor patio of sorts, for a drink at their bar and stayed for dinner which was delicious. They served a stew called poike, some wonderful roasted vegetables and fresh warm baked rolls. I highly recommend dinner if you have a chance. We had a restful night and after a tasty, hot breakfast we were then transported back to the airport by Arthur. The free airport transfers were an added value. If you need a place to stay near to the airport Sunrock is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,290 - 1,296 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

My colleagues and I are missionaries and we do much traveling within South Africa. We have teams that come from the U.S. to join us and when we pick them up we always stay at the Sunrock. They are a great value for the price and Arthur and Ina have always treated us like family. The food is fabulous. We stay there whenever we need a place to stay in Johannesburg. You can't go wrong with this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lshadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at Sunrock House on our way back from Victoria Falls.We arrived at J/Burg at 3pm, and were greetet by Arthur,a very pleasant man ,who had braved a violent hailstorm to meet us on time.He was ever so cheerful and drove us to his guest house,where we met Ina,his wife and their 2 small children who also made us most welcome.We were shown to a very clean twin bedroom,which was comfortable and tidy.That evening we were invited to join their family for a 'braai' with some other guests.We had a delicious meal,bbq.steak,potato in foil and salad--yummy!Just like a home cooked meal.
The following morning,we were being collected at 6am.by our driver who was taking us up to Kruger for a Safari.As we were about to leave Ina,gave us both a basket full of goodies including bottled water for our long journey ahead.This was such a lovely ,kind.gesture which we really appreciated.
We really enjoyed our stay at Sunrock with Arthur and Ina and would certainly stay there again if we ever come back to Johannesburg.We will certainly tell our friends and suggest to anyone going over there that they will not be disappointed.
Thankyou Arthur and Ina
Mary and Kate
Sunshine coast
Australia

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoBsiPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

we stayed at the sunrock guest house this january. it was an excellent choice. arthur and ina were great hosts. we went in as guests but were made to feel home. great rooms, great service, great hospitality, very helpful in every way. our son became good friends with arthur and inas kids and did not want to leave. i would strongly recommend this place to anyone visiting joburg... by the way arthur prepares an excellent barberque in the evenings. great south african hospitality...... in one word EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnieNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed in a family suite, which was so spacious, comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was delicious, as was the suppers which was served at the Lapa.
Arthur, Ina , Megan and James were such gracious hosts, creating a warm family atmosphere for all their guests. Their service to us (and probably to all their other guest)
went beyond their duties. They treat their guests like family!
The staff was friendly and polite. We would highly recommend this guest house to all!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Wonderful stay! Booked this B&B over the internet due to previous reviews. Must say the reviews were spot on. Airport transfers were right on time. Breakfasts were delicious; hosts were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Had arranged to stay here for 3 seperate nights and due to my travel plans changing I phoned at the last minute from Sabie to see if Sunrock possibly had an opening. Arthur was wonderful at making the arrangements on such short notice. Would highly recommend this B&B. Will certainly book with them again on my next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMCourtSpahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We were to hire a 4x4 Camper and required a stay near JNB airport.
Not only were we picked up on arrival by Arthur, we had an excellent evening meal and next day were dropped at Britz to rent up our vehicle.

Excellent Bar ,meals and service ,with a swimming pool to boot.

Rooms were not huge but clean and comfortable and in a very secure environment

Very good value.

On the way back , Arther picked us up from Britz & we had a lovely afternoon with a few beers ,a swim in the pool and drop off at OT airport.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,501 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 27 in Kempton Park
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $78 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing