We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home at Kempton park”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our stay at Sunrock guest house was one of the best I have done while on holiday. We felt very welcomed right from the airport where we were met by the guest house proprietors. They were there before time and patiently waited for our flight to arrive and us to go through the customs check. They are a wonderful couple! The staff is also professional and very kind and useful. The guest house is very well kept, excellently clean rooms, fresh linen, and beautiful grounds. The breakfasts and the dinners were exhilerating and we loved the "honesty bar" concept. The guest house is very near the aiport and also near to the Gautrain station from where one can reach many intresting places to visit. The guest house also offers drop offs at nearby malls which is very nice. I would recommend Sunrock guest house to anyone looking for a comfy, homely, and quiet stay that is worth the cost. We truly enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy Achieng A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

My fault but did not realize Sunrock was not a hotel but more a B&B. Owner drove the pickup van and entire family tried hard to accomodate us well. Went through a rough area with most houses and businesses surrounded by barbed wire and security fences. A bit of a shock for us from the US. Property was quite old and like a one level older motel but had been maintained well. Room was adequate and enjoyed their home cooked dinner meal. All was okay and someone on budget or personal business would do okay staying here. Only there one night and on with our trip.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William B. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It feels like you're staying at a friends house- very comfortable and relaxed but professional. They are incredibly helpful and will pick up/drop you off at airport or Gautrain, print boarding passes, etc. Good breakfast, super clean and modern rooms with lots of communal hang out areas. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great room,(2) with huge bath room, double shower & basins, all immaculate. Food was very nice & lots of it , !breakfast & dinner ! There is an honesty bar with very reasonably priced drinks .staff very friendly, attentive and helpful.Its a family run business and you tell ! Would love to have stayed longer !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greg & Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

From the moment I booked the guest lodge, Ina was in touch asking if I was flying in, if they could pick me up. Felt very professional. I didn't have supper at the guest lodge which they provide, however the breakfast was fantastic. The rooms were very clean and peaceful, I had a lovely nights sleep and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The owners were very nice and they do everything to make you feel at home. The transfer from and to the airport is also very good and in a short time you reach the guest house. Recommended when you have to wait from one day to another between flights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simao D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

All the staff were excellent & very hospitable, from the prompt & welcoming airport pick up to helpful advice on sights & shopping. Overall Excellent value. I will stay again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $81 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing