We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and welcoming.”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and welcoming.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

While you might be concerned by the local area when you arrive here your concerns will be washed away by the warmth of the welcome at the Sunrock. The accommodation is simple 3 star motel style, the rooms are spotless and large. The owners were incredibly welcoming and we enjoyed the meal (nothing fancy, good South African fare) put on for guests in the evening.

We only stayed one night as we transited Johannesburg and were leaving very early in the morning, they prepared a small packed lunch for us both which we didn't request, this was a nice touch.

If you're looking for a stopover hotel near the airport that is not a generic chain hotel then the Sunrock is your best option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    420
    57
    5
    9
See reviews for
319
424
250
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

There's not much more you could ask for given the experience we had. Maybe if buddy (the parrot) was a more friendly?

Such a shame there was a fire at the pool house. But offset by the pool bags - which are awesome!!

Thank you for a very hospitable stay. Plus thank you for the extra advice, late checkout and dinner.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A perfect place for an overnight stay while travelling. Helpful airport transfers, kind staff and peaceful oasis when travelling. Building works are in progress to replace one of the buildings but that in no way causes inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LogieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I spent only one night at Sunrock, arriving late in the evening, leaving early morning. Pick up at the airport worked fine and the next morning I was taken to the Gautrain Station very timely. The place is more practical than beautiful, but my room (#12) was sufficient in size, clean and with a good matrace for a restful sleep. You do get some noise from the planes which didn't bother me much. Breakfast was ok, no filter coffee, but maybe I was just too early. The staff was friendly. The value for money is hard to beat, so I might stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hostel was fantastic! I had a layover of 11 hours overnight and didn't want to fork out for a hotel within jo'burg airport, and I'm glad I didn't. I was picked up from the airport by one of their drivers, who was on time, friendly and welcoming. As a female travelling for the first time in SA it felt extremely safe and gave me a good impression of the country. On arrival I was greeted by the host, who was welcoming and helpful. It was pretty quiet due to the time of year, and their pool was under construction which didn't worry me! The rooms were luxurious and spotless, which I wasn't expecting for the price! I wish I had a longer time there, but in my short time it left a lasting impression. Highly recommended to anyone. So close to the airport and excellent value for money. The breakfast was also amazing, as was the transfer back tot the airport. Top marks all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauramaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

excellent in every way! Heather was a dear and a help. The driver from the airport- was it Keith? Anyway he was great. Accomodations great. Crazy thing--left my window open in the bathroom and noted that there were all sorts of dirty footprints on the floor the next day..what in heavens was it? A cat?
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very god alternative if you stay one night and just arrived or are flighing out, just 15 min from airport. Transportation is included in the price. Clean rooms, english breakfast, friendly staf. The noice from airoplanes did not disturb our sleep.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,125 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing