We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, handy for airport”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a good stopover point and their driver will pick you up from or take you to Oliver Tambo airport. You can't get into Jo'burg from here without a car or taxi so they do offer dinner, which was excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Honestly the neighborhood seemed a little worrisome, but upon entering the gate to the property, it was a true oasis. The food, the service, and the rooms were great! Perfect for a near airport place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lenon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

All the good things written in other reviews are true! Only minus point is the neighbourhood, but as dinner is possible in the guesthouse, and is very good, there is no need to leave the place. Clean large rooms, swimming pool of reasonable size, good breakfast, airport transport, friendly staff. What else you need for an overnight stay?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theo591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Perfect place to stay overnight when waiting for a flight. A driver meets one at the airport and it is only minutes to ride. I was just returning from safari and all I wanted was a hot shower and comfy bed. Found both. Plus there was a friendly staff and a good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KaN104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The room was very tidy, neat and roomy. There was buffet for Friday night was just excellent. The Swimming pool colored lights really gave the pool a romantic look. Accessories in the toilet was sufficient. The hotel is in a quite area, Ideal for couples on holiday. The hotel is very close to OR Tambo Airport, about 10 minutes drive.


  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adedapo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at Sunrock Guesthouse for two nights in December and could not have been happier with my room or more blown away by the customer service. I was in Joburg only because S. African airways had messed up my flight schedule – I found out I would be staying 2 extra nights (as opposed to just having a few hour layover) the night before leaving. Someone at Sunrock was there to pick me up at the airport (though it was very late), and my room was beautiful and very clean when I got in. Breakfast the next morning was delicious (eggs, breakfast meats, yogurt, juice, bread, etc. etc.) and the hosts were incredible. They gave me a number of recommendations for what to do in town during my stay, and were very welcoming and friendly. The setting is also stunning – the pool is beautiful, the plants are all gorgeous, and it made for a wonderful place to just relax.

What really made the Sunrock experience so incredible was the service though. The next morning I wanted to meet a friend in Pretoria, so the hotel owners nicely told me how to do this and even personally drove me to the train station at the airport, since I also wanted to exchange money and buy a phone. I didn’t realize I would need my passport for this, so I then borrowed someone at the airports phone and called her back. She amazingly offered to come BACK to the airport and bring me my passport! I would have literally been stranded with no money and no way to get anywhere if I’d been at a normal hotel with normal customer service. Later that day she made sure to ask about my afternoon, was very friendly and not at all frustrated – which I definitely would have been if I were her. I had to work remotely the next day and even though I had to check out in the morning they nicely let me stay there all the way until 2pm, working in the lounge and by the pool. (Which was very pleasant.) Some readers/travelers might also find it worth noting that I'm a 24 year old female and had been met with a few skeptical or worried responses when friends or family knew I was going to Joburg alone. Staying here made me feel completely safe and well looked-after, which allowed me to better appreciate a really awesome city!

Great service, beautiful guesthouse. If you need to somewhere to stay relatively near the airport, this is definitely a wonderful option.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank 13CateM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The rooms are very clean and way above standard. Loved the hominess of the resturant/reception area. Very welcoming ambiance. No complaints really except I wished the contact persons could be more proactive in responding to questions raised through email. So maybe some improvement in communication might help. Otherwise my overall experience with the place itself and staff while there was very plesant. Highly Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Musonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,492 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 27 in Kempton Park
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $78 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing