We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Overnight in Johannesburg”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our family stayed at Sunrock GuestHouse on Friday 3/1/2014- prior to our flight back to the UK on Saturday. Heather was superb - so very helpful and friendly, our dinner delicious- the steak the best we've had for a long time, the room comfortable and adequate and breakfast nicely prepared.
The garden is beautiful, serene and peaceful, the dogs and parrot make it a home from home.
We highly recommend this guest house as it is around the corner from the airport and down the road from some good shopping malls for last minute purchases.
Thank you for your excellent service - we'll certainly be back.
Best wishes to you all for 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed her twice when we had short stops at the airport. The proximity to the airport is fantastic and the airport shuttle is also great. We slept well both nights we slept here. One night we had a fantastic bathtub and dual shower. Loved it- very nice after a long safari. The food is amazing- we enjoyed having a nice, home cooked meal after traveling. The staff is very friendly. They are close to a little shopping mart that we were able to walk to grab snacks. I'd definitely stay again and pick this over other locations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A great start to our trip to South Africa. There is a dining room where they serve dinner which was one of the best steaks I have ever had. It was like eating in someones dining room and had a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Really good start to a trip to SA - driver waiting at the airport, clean rooms, pool to relax in, and great staff. Much nicer than a multi-national hotel, and great peace of mind to know that the shuttle service will be waiting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I passed through Joburg and needed an overnight before my flight the next day, so I thought I would give Sunrock a shot. It was great! The couple who runs the place were very nice, and it was quiet with nice accommodations. The food was excellent! I tasted the best steak I have ever experienced on the continent of Africa while staying at Sunrock. [Mind you, I am from Texas... I am familiar with a good steak]. Wifi was a available for free, and was a reasonably quick speed. Oh! the free shuttle to and from the airport was a huge help as well. No complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ir0nBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great homely guesthouse for overnight stay with clean, spacious rooms, pretty gardens and inviting pool. No fuss pickup at the airport invaluable after a long flight. The owners Arthur and Ina are very friendly and helpful, along with all their staff. Steak (huge) bbq and breakfast next morning were delicious. If you prefer to eat at a restaurant in the evening Arthur will take you and pick you up later. Ina took us back to the airport the next morning to collect our hire car. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jude0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Sunrock is an excellent place to spend the night before or after a flight from / to Johannesburg. It is nicer and more personal than the anonymous hotel-chains. The owners provide a cab-service to and from the airport which works good. You can hear the airplanes but only moderately.
Within the gates the place is safe and beautiful, nice garden, swimming pool, you'll be well away from the airport atmosphere. The personnel is friendly and helpful.
One drawback: be prepared to arrive and leave the hotel by car. You will not be expected to leave by foot as the environment isn't considered safe enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Berend36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $74 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing