We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Airport”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Sunrock is a nice little place close to the Tambo Airport. The shuttle driver was waiting for us when we arrived from Cape Town. Very comfortable bed, great shower and bath, in a secure location. They also prepared a great dinner for all of the guests that night, and had a great breakfast buffet the next morning. It's a good thing, because they are not close to anything. The closest restaurant required a taxi ride, which you may or may not want to do.That's the only reason I did not give it a 5. The lounge had sodas and bottled water for sale cheap, and Ina even fixed me a grilled cheese sandwich to holdme over till dinner. We were only there 1 night, leaving for JFK the next evening. And it's all at a very low price.
Ina was very accommodating, but if she's gone, they don't have much staff; you pretty much have to wait until she returns. She said we could stay in the room until 3 the next afternoon as long as she didn't need it for an incoming guest; that was very convenient. They shuttled us back to the airport. All in all, it's a great option for the price for a short stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wilmer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
There are newer reviews for Sunrock Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Two friends and I spent one day at the Sunrock Guesthouse in J'burg, and could not have been more pleased. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the food service superb, but most enjoyable was the delightful personal service provided by the family/owners. They helped us with all our transportation issues, including airport pickup, and facilitated our rail trip into the City. It turned out that this facility was one of the best during our trip to southern Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AlZinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

we four people share a family room of Sunrock Guesthouse.the Location is good,not too far from the airport,not too close to noisy. We have a good sleep. Service and shuttle bus is sweet. And I love the cute dog and the bird.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank liuda_liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great value, pick up from airport on time and very handy. Good value evening meal and breakfast. Made to feel very welcome by owners and all the dogs. Nice laid back atmosphere and situated in a quiet area. Bedrooms very comfortable. Perfect for us on a one night stopover before moving on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin and Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Clean and comfortable family adjoining rooms. It was great to be picked up and dropped off from the airport rather than having to organize this ourselves. Warm and friendly staff who made us feel at home. In fact they organized a birthday cake for my son the night we flew in which was lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very friendly welcome, nice rooms and good food. Ideal place to break your journey. Efficient shuttle to and from airport.
While we were other the swimming pool and communal area was being rebuilt, it would be nice to see it when completed. It is a place where you will talk to your fellow guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HiBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I had a 15 hour layover in Johannesburg and did not want to stay at the airport. The Sunrock Guest House could not have been better. It is close (10-minutes) from the terminal and they will provide shuttle service if arranged ahead of time. Arrived at the Guest House about 9:30 pm, I will greeting by the owner Jerry upon arrival and he personally carried my bag to the room and got me situated. My room # 22 was simple, clean and quite. There was a fresh cooked breakfast to my taste with all the trimmings included in the price of the room. This is not the Ritz-Carlton but it was clean, quite, friendly and safe. I would return without a second thought.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,188 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $77 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing