We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Purcell, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was a most surprising place to stay. It is clean, quiet, private - all in the middle of Joburg! The food was absolutely fabulous. Everything about the place was first rate. They provided personal attention, very friendly and helpful. I was really sad that we only had one night in the Sunrock - next time I will plan on much longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    405
    54
    4
    7
See reviews for
301
413
236
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The complimentary ride to and from the airport was extremely helpful to us. The food was wonderful, and the owners and staff were very cordial and warm. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well-maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My girlfriend and myself stayed for one night during a stopover in Joburg. The airport pickup was greatly received seeing as we arrived at night as well as not knowing the country due to this being our first trip to SA. Breakfast was good and the staff all extremely friendly! Great value for money and extremely convenient due to its proximity to O.R Tambo.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are lit outside near the gates which made it feel more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyB1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

For me the great advantage here is that your stay includes transfers to and from OR Tambo airport. We've stayed twice and the transfers have always been very efficient. I would describe the property, which is secure and gated, as a motel with individual units in small blocks. Rooms are very clean and comfortable and have tv and tea & coffee making facilities. On this occasion we chose a family room which was bigger than the standard twin. We also had the dinner (a buffet consisting of salads, roast chicken, assorted veg and dessert) which was tasty and reasonably priced. There is an honesty bar for drinks. The hosts, Arthur and Ina were very welcoming and helpful. All in all I would say that this place represents extremely good value for money for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladylumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohale's Hoek, Lesotho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Due to a cancelled flight, I had to change my reservation at the last minute. I was going to arrive 3 days sooner than scheduled. Ina was able to accommodate me and responded promptly! The food is great!


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on 2 separate stopovers at Johannesburg. Pick up at airport was efficient, easy and very much appreciated. Online booking was super easy and efficient. Owners were friendly, helpful & accomodating without being intrusive. Was perfect for a solo traveller like myself who was looking for a convenient stopover accomodation for onward journeys. Rooms were spotless and perfectly comfortable for short stay. Dinner onsite was lovely and generously hearty on both occasions. Breakfast was more than sufficient with options of cereal, eggs, and other hot options. I had to replace my camera as it got stolen in-between my first and second stay (i had another few weeks of travel before returning home) the owners were incredibly helpful and took me around to a nearby shopping complex before I was due to leave where I was able to get one. The compound felt safe and I never had to venture out on my own in the neighborhood so can't comment on that. Sunrock is the perfect choice if you are looking for a fuss free, safe, good value & comfortable stay in the city with the added advantage of wonderfully helpful hosts who are as available as you need them to be. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The service was excellent. Friendly welcoming management and all staff.
We stayed 3 different individual nights. Our first room was nice but basic. The two other occasions we had the same room which was bigger, double shower, double basins and a lovely inviting bath tub. All more than we really needed or required but it was wonderful. Close to airport, not exceedingly noisy, transit to and from airport or to shopping centre quick, efficient and friendly. The guesthouse offered an evening meal at a very reasonable price .. smorgasboard, lovely fresh homecooked food .. all guests were utilising this great service ... not many places offer great food at such a great price. We used their laundry service and staff were accommodating as we arrived late and were leaving early the next morning our clothes were laundered and returned in a very short timeframe. Would definitely recommend and when we return to Africa we will definitely be re booking here.
We have stayed in the Kempton Park area before and consider it to be a nice safer alternative to the city area and close proximity to airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing