We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to JNB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient to JNB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

As others have noted, this guesthouse is close to the JNB airport. It's a perfect location to stay when you first arrive. So helpful to come off a long international flight and have someone waiting to pick you up! And they drove us back to the airport the next day to get our rental car. The room was nice and clean and the bathroom was beautiful with a large shower. Wifi worked well, even in our distant room. Breakfast was crowded, but only because their extra room had recently burned down (they were rebuilding the day we left). definitely recommend this as a place to stay at the beginning or end of your trip to South Africa

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maprunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    401
    54
    4
    7
See reviews for
294
407
233
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
on the road
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Sunrock in Oct 2012 for one night after a long overseas flight. Arthur and Ina and all of their staff were so friendly that we booked for two nights on our second trip in August 2013. Again, everything was delightful. From Louis, the driver who met us at the airport both times, to the reservationist, to the cooks, and all of the other guests we met, everyone was wonderful. In August we were lucky to be booked into a honeymoon room with a beautiful double shower, spa tub, and double sinks! The bedroom was exceptionally clean and had a fluffy comforter and coffee/tea making facilities. It was chilly in August so we were pleased to find that our room had electric heat. All three nights we enjoyed the optional dinner. The beef curry stew is excellent! Breakfast included eggs cooked to order, breads, ham, French toast, tasty juices, and more. Louis suggested that we take a city tour on our 1 day in J'burg. He drove us to the train and picked us up - all complimentary. (We did of course tip him.) We left Sunrock feeling as we had made new friends whom we would love to host in our own home. Having traveled extensively, Sunrock is without a doubt the most delightful place we've stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunseekerOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family of 6 arrived in Joberg, tired and hungry after a long flight. The van from Sunrock met us at the airport and took us to the guesthouse where we found super comfortable rooms and a delicious hot supper waiting for us. Words can't express how helpful this was to restore our tired bodies. The rooms are beautifully outfitted and the hosts were most welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

That's the second time we used this B&B and we can only give it the highest points possible! First visit was over 3 pleasant nights.
On arrival the Driver did picked us up from the Airport with out delay. Service Staff are very friendly and well trained. As you can see on the score below there is nothing missing, did never try the room service.
The Owners are great to talk to and extremely helpful.
Breakfast is served in a nice and cosy room, dinner on the first occasion we enjoyed in a African Style Garden Roundel with a fantastic BBQ and all the trimmings freshly cooked. On our second visit the dinner was served in the Breakfast room because the owners where renovating the Bar and BBQ area. There is a nice clean Pool and good secure parking area. 10 min. walk and you are in a shopping centre. This place has it all and we will book again on our next visit to SA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romang67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wierden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice, cosy guesthouse close to the Johannesburg Airport. Great service is the free transfer to and from the airport. Their service, rooms and food is good. Neext time when we are aarriving at OR Tambo we will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Douwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula,MT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed one night as it was close to the airport with easy access for an early morning flight. Dinner and breakfast on site were very good and much appreciated during travel. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 47degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I can never figure out why people spend much more to stay in a sterile hotel? The owners here were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. The dinner was fantastic, as was the breakfast. Very convienient to the airport, but I would stay here even if I was not going to the airport. It also had good wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing