We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cozy little place”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Did an overnight in Johannesburg on our way to Pretoria. The Sun Rock is a quaint, affordable and comfortable little place close to the airport. The owners are wonderful and the services highly adequate. If your looking for the Ritz this isn't it but for atmosphere I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Zambia and it was a very comfortable stopover and the breakfast was lovely. The room was clean and the bed was good. The shuttle service was very good and convenient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Dont be fooled by the picture, the boma isnt there anymore. As for peaceful suburb......I stayed there on Sunday night the 30th of June and the disco / club just down the road had music pumping into the early hours of the morning.
The area that the guesthouse is in doesnt look safe and whilst there is a wall around the property there are no burglar bars on the windows of the rooms and they are on ground level. As a lady staying alone I did not feel safe.
I would NEVER stay there again and I would NOT recommend it for anyone.
The only nice thing I can say about the place is that driver who collected me and returned me to the airport, Lewis, was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackyH768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family stayed at Sunrock Guesthouse for 2 evenings - One weekend on a Friday night and the next weekend a Saturday night. There is a night club of kinds in the close proximity of the guesthouse. On both stays the continuous beat of the music into the early hours of the morning was a real challenge for us. This is really troublesome if you are sound sensitive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Worldtravellerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Sunrock Guesthouse was our first introduction to South Africa. The free shuttle service was good and the location near the airport was handy. The hosts were really nice too and the room was pretty good, although we had some issues with getting enough hot water. Outlook onto grassy back yard and or the other wings of the building was a little bleak. Room was comfortable enough and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurmeseDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent one night at Sunrock and echo all the positive comments of other reviewers - PLUS - as we were leaving Kempton Park by train, not plane, the very efficient driver delivered us to Rhodesville Station instead of ORTambo Station - a decent saving on the cost of the train ticket! A thoughtful extra!

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have travelled through Johannesburg a number of times when transiting to visit my daughter and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else except Sunrock. The owners are the most generous and welcoming people. There is always someone at the airport to meet you and there is never a problem being returned to the airport. The rooms are spotless and the meals are excellent. I look forward to staying at Sunrock now as part of my holiday and not just as a stopover.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $75 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing