We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great overnight stay, helpful advice too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great overnight stay, helpful advice too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent one night at Sunrock and echo all the positive comments of other reviewers - PLUS - as we were leaving Kempton Park by train, not plane, the very efficient driver delivered us to Rhodesville Station instead of ORTambo Station - a decent saving on the cost of the train ticket! A thoughtful extra!

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    372
    52
    4
    6
See reviews for
278
385
223
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have travelled through Johannesburg a number of times when transiting to visit my daughter and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else except Sunrock. The owners are the most generous and welcoming people. There is always someone at the airport to meet you and there is never a problem being returned to the airport. The rooms are spotless and the meals are excellent. I look forward to staying at Sunrock now as part of my holiday and not just as a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a solo female traveler (19 yrs old) for the first time, I was very nervous about spending a night in Jo'burg. But the Sunrock Guesthouse was by far the best way to do it. I was going back and forth between staying IN the hotel (for about 300 dollars) or staying at Sunrock (for about 70 dollars). I ended up choosing Sunrock and am so glad I did.

The one negative was the fact that no one was at the front desk when we arrived (Around 9pm) which was an issue since our shower didn't have water (long story, but I ended up bumping into a friend at the airport, and Sunrock changed my room last minute so he could stay with me!)

However, someone did help us find a different room to shower in the next morning.

Basically - the car ride there is short and safe, it's worth it to save the money (i.e. worth it to not stay IN the airport), and the hot breakfast and shower make all the difference on a multi-day flight!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with StudentUniverse

Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kardamena, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at Sunrock Guesthouse and enjoyed our stay. The shuttle was waiting for us when we de-boarded the place and were prompt to take us back to the airport the next day. The room was clean and we both slept well. The guest house is surrounded by a fence which made us feel safe in the area and the breakfast was also delicious! The owners were extremely welcoming and gave us some tips on what we should do during our visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stephanopolis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were traveling to Jo'burg for a wedding. I took a terrible fall (offsite) and injured my knee. Everyone at Sunrock were so generous and kind to us. They even took me to the hospital for treatment and were helpful as we extended our stay and I hobbled on crutches.
The meals, dinner and breakfast, were delicious. The staff was all terrific and it felt like home. You will enjoy staying in the family suite with interleading rooms if you are traveling with family.
We can't thank you enough Sunrock for a wonderful stay and providing us care with my injured knee! Thank you!

Room Tip: Family suite with interleading rooms is good for family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTraveler846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a great family run business. They give you the personal treatment. You get your moneys worth. The dinners are great and worth the money. You can't get a steak dinner for this price in a restaurant that is this good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig & Trudie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely people, beautiful rooms, very clean.
Great food at the buffet, very efficient with drop off and pick up from airport.
Absolutely recommend it for young people travelling via South Africa and looking for a safe place in Johannesburg for a night.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back away from the road and the communal eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurabonny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 25 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing