We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Close to airport and the driver was waiting for us as our flight came in. He delivered us to the door of our room. The room was spacious and clean with very comfortable beds. Ina and Aurther were very welcoming. We enjoyed a family style dinner after arrival while sampling the local beer and wine. The crowd in the bar was friendly and fun to chat with. Breakfast was fabulous. Unfortunately, we we only staying for the night as we had a flight to catch in the morning. The driver promptly delivered us to the airport and got us to the appropriate ticketing counter.

This is a great value for all that you receive. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topeka4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
There are newer reviews for Sunrock Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

This B&B was handy for airport with a free pick-up service. The owners were extremely helpful, friendly and made you feel very welcome. The breakfast and evening meals were excellent. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eleanore K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had two overnight layovers in Johannesburg and stayed at Sunrock Guesthouse both times. The rooms are nice and clean and the place is lovely. The lounging area has a really nice pool. We had free transportation to and from the airport and they were on time and extremely friendly. The staff is very welcoming and the nightly BBQ they organise is fantastic!! Good food, great setting and a good way to meet others staying in the place. The breakfast was very good, they provide everything from eggs and bacon to yogurt and cereals. We didn't have wifi working in the rooms but they had computers available to use. I would highly recommend Sunrock to anyone that is looking for a nice place to stay that is close to the airport. They definitely exceeded my expectations and based on other reviews I read I was already optimistic about the place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I had a fabulous stay there and both the dinner and breakfast provided was terrific!! The hosts were wonderful and fun to chat with. Lovely place and excellent location near OR Tambo. Enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Airport pickup and drop off 1 st class. Room adequate , very clean and plenty of hot water. Breakfast adequate. Staff very pleasant.Would not use as a holiday location but would use again as an overnight stopover

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank glensurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Located within four kilometres of airport and picked up on arrival. Good clean rooms with comfortable beds. Owners Arthur and Lina most welcoming and informative. They will arrange to have hotel driver deliver guests to Gauteng
terminal which is a very efficient, fast and easy to use subway type system to downtown Johannesburg.
At downtown pick uo drop on drop off bus service to all major tourist points. At no time did we feel unsafe or threatened and found Joburg an interesting city.
We found the hotel to be excellent value in all respects and we rebooked it for another night when we returned.
Arthur and Lina allowed an extended check out of five hours - a curtesy much appreciated as we had a very late fllight.
Both beakfasts (included) and the dinners (surprisingly inexpensive) were of excellent quality - the lamb in particular was among the best I hve tasted.
We would recommend Sunrock to any of our friends and would book this hotel again upon our return to Joburg.




  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is basically a large motel with meal facilities and it includes pickup and delivery from/to the airport. The hosts are friendly and helpful and the food is midrange buffet with extra helpings encouraged.

The room we had was clean and tidy and is probably the same as most. It was very small so two bags were hard to manage. The bathroom was entered via a hard to move sliding door and a light bulb needed replacing. We didn't bother worrying the proprietors about that because that morning their native style bar had burned down and they had plenty of other stuff to worry about.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $82 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing