We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great JNB stopover place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great JNB stopover place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent two overnights here, on the way to, and coming back from, Windhoek, Namibia. It is ideal for that kind of stopover. We were met and the airport on time and returned there on time. We were delivered right to the door of our room, minimizing the baggage schlep. The owners/managers were friendly and efficient, the room was clean and comfortable, and breakfasts were excellent. Dinner looked good as well, although we did not partake.

The immediate neighborhood is not particularly attractive or inviting, but it seemed safe enough. We took a long walk, visiting a supermarket and a busy main thoroughfare lined with shops and stalls. No hassles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HarveyL759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    373
    52
    4
    6
See reviews for
278
385
223
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wonderful place. They are always busy helping people and ready to answer any question. The closeness to the airport is a great advantage. And if you want to take the Gautrain to downtown, quick short drop by hotel driver.
It's not a 5-star hotel, but what a nice, cheap and loving place. The grounds are so cleanly kept with flowers and decorations around. Arthur is a wonderful helpful guy, and the driver Louis always ready to help. Clean pool, rustic "bar", great breakfast with the cooks getting you what you need even besides what is readily suggested for the morning. The ladies at the bar and reception desk always helpful and smiling. Even the doggy was so friendly . I will not have to search further for my next stay in Jo'Burg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zynnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I would highly recommend the Sunrock guest house. I've stayed here a few times and loved it each time. They are prompt to pick you up at JNB and will drop you off free of charge. It's a 5-10 min drive from JNB. In the evening they prepare a nice BBQ and the rooms and bed are very comfortable. Plus, while you are there you can experience the culture of SA. Why stay at a commercialized hotel? The breakfast is also amazing with cooks willing to cook your breakfast just how you like it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnglen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

stayed for one night after a long flight and was amazed by this place, everything was great and staff were friendly.

a BIG FIVE to a lady named CHARNE', she was SUPER SUPPER nice to me and she helped me about getting an airport lift which was free for me and my cousin.

we could hear airplanes coz the airport is a little close but that did NOT bother me at all coz i guess every hotel close to the airport will have the same issue.

i will definitely stay here again in couple months and i recommend this place big tym. its cheap and easy access to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackErnest27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wanted a hotel with easy access to the airport for my one nite of transit and I was absolutely delighted with my choice to stay at Sunrock Guesthouse. Short 10 minutes drive to airport, great rooms and spotlessly clean, lovely breakfast, and offer good dinner at their restaurant if you don't want to go out. Will always choose to stay there when in Jo'burg. The people are so helpful and genuinely nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JeannineS275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very good stay with super friendly staff and a good bed. Excellent value for money. We were four in transit towards Botswana and we loved it. We'll come back if we transit in Jo'burg again.
Thanks a lot

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank XavierC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the time we booked online, Ina kept in touch. Received warmly by Shanice. Our room was absolutely perfect for us. The breakfasts were great. Owners very friendly. We will definately come back to Sunrock.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PrenishaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 25 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing