We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy dive”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

There is noisy loud music blaring from surrounds, walls are so thin you can hear people coughing in the adjacent room, and the flights are going past every 15 min. The rooms are ok and clean although there's no door to the toilet which forms part of the bedroom. The only good thing is the airport pick-up but rather stay in an airport hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Booked this guesthouse because it was conveniently situated close to the airport, perfect for one night before returning home. Not expensive but I was surprized that it was so nice, comfortable, clean and modern room and bathroom. Personal service from Ina and Arthur with staff, felt like home. Good food, honesty bar. Also free transfer to and from airport and to and from the train station when I wanted to spend a couple of hours shopping in Rosebank.
Sunrock Guesthouse is a place where it feels natural to present yourself to the other guests and chat a bit. I never feel inclined to do that in an ordinary hotel.
Even though it is so close to the airport the sound from the planes were not irritating. I could absolutely stay there for longer time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had one night in Jo'burg after a long flight, and wanted an affordable, safe and convenient place to stay the night. We found that and more! It was wonderfully stress-free to have our driver pick us up in the airport, given that it was our first night in Africa and we were exhausted. We had a good night's sleep in a comfortable, clean room, and a nice shower in the morning. Great breakfast and friendly staff. The grounds are lush and beautiful, a small oasis in the city. My daughter (6) was delighted with the hotel's dogs and a parrot. We were glad she was able to run around the yard before we started the day's long drive to Kruger. I'm so glad I booked here and didn't have to walk to a large, bleak airport hotel that night. Don't be worried by the sketchy neighborhood you drive through, we felt very safe in the hotel's gated complex.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxshauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sunrock is a great accomodation in the moderate price range. It's very close to the airport. The minute we entered the gates, my husband and I were welcomed and treated like friends. The owners were happy to assist us in every way possible with questions about traveling, directions, and general sites to see in the City. We first stayed after arriving at Tambo International Airport, and were exhausted from a long flight from the US. We slept like logs! We then stayed again prior to our departure since we had such a good first experience. It was just super relaxing- the food was great and we met interesting travelers.

Our room was clean and inviting, the shower was warm, the bed was comfortable. Sunrock has a family atmosphere and was just plain "nice to come home to." Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalowho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My brother's travel plans changed late, and I found myself needing to spend a unplanned night in J'burg on the way to Swaziland. After a quick search I found Sunrock, and rather than just a place to spend a night found a destination in and of itself. The rooms were above and beyond expectation, service fantastic, and the dinners a great chance to enjoy some excellent food and meet people from all over. On top of it all wifi allowed me to remain connected. Definitely will be back next time I have a night in J'burg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isaac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you don't want to stay within the immediate vicinity of the airport, and are looking for a cheaper alternative, then we can recommend Sunrock. The owners were friendly, the room was clean and well sized. We had to wait a few minutes for the shuttle service, arriving early evening, and the shuttle service back to the airport at 430am the next day was fine. It is not the kind of place with lots to walk to in immediate area, it is a gated accommodation, so if you are just looking to sleep, it is fine. It does have a nice restaurant/eating/bar area by the pool. We could not get the wireless internet to work with the access code given, but were too tired to worry about it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blindbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

the location is really perfect for one or two nights near Joburg. it ist close to the airport, the staff and owner are very very helpful and friendly.
Thanks very much for your held with printing boarding pass and organising a city tour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank braun-pfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,494 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 27 in Kempton Park
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $79 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing