We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place near OR Tambo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place near OR Tambo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Sun Rock Guest House is a very pleasant respite from travels near the airport. The complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and free WiFi are added benefits. Arthur and Ina serve a great dinner if you arrive in time and the complimentary breakfast includes made to order eggs. The rooms are roomy and comfortable. . This place beats the impersonal large airport hotels!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cascadedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    349
    50
    4
    6
See reviews for
263
367
215
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent one night here after flying into Johannesburg. We were picked up by a Sunrock driver whom had our names listed on signage at the airport arrival terminal. Upon our arrival to the guest house, we met Arthur and Ina. They are great people and amazing hosts. We had drinks with them well into the evening, and Arthur introduced us to the Springbok shot. The food was excellent, and the rooms were comfortable and spacious. I highly recommend staying here when in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrds08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, MD USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at Sunrock Guest House at the beginning and end of our visit to the Johannesburg ariport. Ina and Arthur are great hosts. The rooms are quite comfortable, the breakfast was excellent, and the intranet access was free. We joined the family for the optional dinners - good simple food. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, with no complications. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Sunrock Guesthouse near the airport is a great place. It has a complimentary pick up and drop off at the airport and also provides inexpensive trips to the Gautrain station. The breakfast is very good and is served in a pretty room. The optional dinner features typical South African braai and other great food served in a thatched outer building at long tables. Ina and Arthur Johnson are the hosts and they do a good job of helping with all sorts of travelers' needs, including arranging various tours around town and the nearby area. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Do not hesitate to stay several days here at Sunrock. You will experience warm and friendly service. You need some kind of transportation as the location is in an area with no facilities. The hosts are making home made food every evening and the bar is open for self service. The free internet is limited to mainly downloading the mails. The rooms are in fine condition and have the needed comfort. A free transportation between Sunrock and the airport makes the travelling easier. I had a very good experience with Sunrock and had a fine price for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am an avid traveler and I have to note when a hotel goes above and beyond. Sunrock Guesthouse went out of there way to help when I had a change in my travel plans. They are very professional and helpful... well done!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FlightAttendantBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spend a great time at the Sunrock Guesthouse. Especially the owners are awesome and very helpful and make just more out of this location. The rooms are clean and spacious and the the gustehouse is very green with a pool and a honesty bar. Breakfast is more than comprehensive and I´d alo recommend to book the supper, bacuse it is just baie lekker ! The guesthouse is located close to the airport and a supermarket can be reached within minutes. The owners are very helpful if you would like to see some sitings in Jo´burg and also if you have to leave your room in the morning but have to stay till the evening to catch your flight it is very comfortable to stay there. Sunrock Guesthouse rocks and I´ll stay there if am back in Jo´burg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra100884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 24 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 24 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing