We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really liked this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really liked this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a great option if you need to be near the airport. I was picked up after a late flight, whisked to my room, and they even opened the bar so I could have a glass of wine. Very homey and family-style breakfast area and the room was extremely comfortable. It was very cold and there were tons of blankets so I slept snugly.In the morning, they got me back to the airport so I could get my next flight with lots of time to spare. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinsomeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    401
    54
    4
    7
See reviews for
294
407
233
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

One of my favorite things about South Africa: I say, "thank you", and the response is, "pleasure!".
Ina and Arthur, the hosts at Sunrock are pure pleasure! Their hospitality is gracious and their enjoyment is infectious! Add in Fatty the dog and his pal, a parrot, 2 charming kids and a staff that pleases--it's a winning combination.
Rooms are nice, clean and our bed ws very comfy. Internet was a bit weak in the room, but quite good in public areas. Arthur does a mean braai--we had lamb ribs and sausage--yum!! Great side dishes and a generously stocked honour bar. I think every guest took advantage of dinner that night. The inlcuded breakfast was good, as well--served in a charming dining space, not unlike a tea room. Ina has a wonderful lilting laugh and the sunniest disposition.
Sunrock has a good-sized pool, a small manicured lawn area and sitting/lounging places alongside. Shuttle service was easy, convenient and free. I don't believe you could go wrong.
We highly recommend a stop here.
We'd certainly return to Sunrock for our next connection thru Joburg!

Room Tip: I think they have rooms with 2 doubles and [ours] 1 king/single. Not sure what other configs are ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is really close to O.R.Tambo airport. Very suitable for transit passengers.Rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms come with both shower enclosure and bath-tub. But the most amazing attraction is the food. Their cook Loyd is simply a master chef.I find myself lucky to enjoy the taste of his cooking.I just couldnt get enough :)
They have nicely manicured lawn with nice flowers.they have pets too, 2 dogs and a BIG talking parrot !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst transiting from Victoria Falls to Kruger. Picked up on time from OR Tambo airport. The rooms we booked were amazingly comfortable and the dinner we were able to secure was tasty. Best of all was the free internet connection ( hadn't been on for over a month). We left very early before breakfast but the owner was there to farewell us. Certainly an excellent place to stay - loved the dogs!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just a few minutes from the airport, this is a great B&B. They were waiting for us when we got off the plane. The rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable. They offered a dinner barbecue buffet and a great breakfast (Breakfast is included). The proprietors Ina and Arthur and incredibly nice. This is a great way to take an overnight while travelling. It's a great value as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

....And excellent service. They organize transfer to and from airport and they are very helpful and friendly. Room are quiet big and comfortable. This is a very good spot for a transit, but even for more days. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emille_naty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great time at Sunrock. The accomodations were excellent, the Staff was extremely helpful and attentive. Transportaion to and from the Airport, which is close by, was an added benefit. We especially enjoyed the dinners at night, where we got to meet the other guests and talk about travel plans and destinations in South Africa. There was always an abundance of food, and it was all delicious!!! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing