We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food,cosy place !!”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is really close to O.R.Tambo airport. Very suitable for transit passengers.Rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms come with both shower enclosure and bath-tub. But the most amazing attraction is the food. Their cook Loyd is simply a master chef.I find myself lucky to enjoy the taste of his cooking.I just couldnt get enough :)
They have nicely manicured lawn with nice flowers.they have pets too, 2 dogs and a BIG talking parrot !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,132 - 1,138 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst transiting from Victoria Falls to Kruger. Picked up on time from OR Tambo airport. The rooms we booked were amazingly comfortable and the dinner we were able to secure was tasty. Best of all was the free internet connection ( hadn't been on for over a month). We left very early before breakfast but the owner was there to farewell us. Certainly an excellent place to stay - loved the dogs!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just a few minutes from the airport, this is a great B&B. They were waiting for us when we got off the plane. The rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable. They offered a dinner barbecue buffet and a great breakfast (Breakfast is included). The proprietors Ina and Arthur and incredibly nice. This is a great way to take an overnight while travelling. It's a great value as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

....And excellent service. They organize transfer to and from airport and they are very helpful and friendly. Room are quiet big and comfortable. This is a very good spot for a transit, but even for more days. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emille_naty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great time at Sunrock. The accomodations were excellent, the Staff was extremely helpful and attentive. Transportaion to and from the Airport, which is close by, was an added benefit. We especially enjoyed the dinners at night, where we got to meet the other guests and talk about travel plans and destinations in South Africa. There was always an abundance of food, and it was all delicious!!! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AwesomeAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great family owned lodge. We had a very long few days of travel from Phoenix and this was the perfect place to spend the night before driving out to the Kruger area. We were dropped at our rooms and after getting settled we went to the beautiful bar / restaurant area to enjoy a very nice dinner. We enjoyed conversation with a couple from Belgium, people from Capetown and a couple from Namibia. In the morning we were served a full breakfast with fresh fruits, breads, omelettes, cereals, etc. Arthur then made sure we had driving directions before dropping us off at the rental car agency. Highly recommend Sunrock!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebKevUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

With a 12 hour layover from CPT to LHR was looking for something close to the airport; came across Sunrock on a web search and decided to give them a try - one of the best decisions I have made on this trip. In a nutshell, close to the Airport with transportation included, spotlessly clean, super room with comfortable bed, coffee maker with plenty of supplies, soft thick towels and best of all a bedside reading light that did not leave me squinting. Enjoyed a fantastic supper that they served buffet style - the lamb ribs cooked on the Braai were incredible. Did not get to try breakfast as I had a 05:45 am departure. Booking over the web site was simple and confirmed via e-mail quickly and great value for money. Arthur and Ina are super innkeepers and the gentleman who took care of getting me to and from the airport showed a level of customer service that could be an example for other hotels to follow. Highly recommend for both business and leisure travels who are looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,445 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#10 of 27 in Kempton Park
619 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $88 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing