We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a place”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a gem of a place”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The informal atmosphere of a small guesthouse (16 rooms) was wonderful. It is the difference between staying in a large hotel on your own (and not talking to anyone) or being introduced to the other Sunrock guests under a thatched roof and sitting down to a meal together. Such a pleasant evening.

Arthur and Ina were the perfect hosts; providing transport to and from the close-by international airport and actually taking me to my place of work that day! Nice rooms and the omelette that I had for breakfast was one of the best.

My only regret was just staying one night.

Room Tip: Wifi is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    420
    57
    5
    9
See reviews for
319
424
250
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at Sunrock in transit to Harare. 5 minutes from airport with guest transfers.Great stay, clean and comfortable rooms. Arthur and Ina treat you to some genuine South African hospitality. Dinner and drinks under a thatch roof is a little piece of Africa in the heart of JBerg!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed one night during our trip between Vic Falls and Kruger. The staff was super nice and the guesthouse offers free transfers between the airport. We enjoyed a tasty home cooked meal and a plentiful breakfast. The rooms were pleasant (no AC).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I booked my stay at Sunrock during a long layover in Johannesburg and was exceptionally happy. The airport pick up was quick and on-time and the whole staff welcomed me as soon as I arrived. The rooms are very nice and I felt instantly comfortable. I will definitely be recommending Sunrock to others who need a stay in Jozi and look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkp021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

After a three month stay working in rural Tanzania, I had a 24 hour stop over in Johannesburg on my way to Argentina, so I just wanted a shower and bed! Sunrock organized to pick me up from the airport without an extra fee, and the driver (so sad I can't recall his name) is a very sweet man who made me feel at home immediately (though it was my first time in South Africa). Sunrock is only about 10 minutes or so from the airport and is on a secure property. The owners are a very sweet couple and the entire stay, the staff were very accommodating and welcoming. The room was large and gorgeous with a very comfortable, large bed, with a tv, shower,and coffee maker. There is a pool with lounge chairs (but i stayed in winter) and a outdoor covered bar. Dinner is a home-cooked meal and breakfast was a great buffet style meal with eggs cooked to order. I needed to buy some clothes, so the driver took me to the mall and picked me up once I was finished shopping and it was no problem. Everything about the stay was perfect, low-key, and comfortable. I would reccomend Sunrock for all types of travelers, but be aware that you will not be downtown. Great place for a layover or travelers needing to be close to the airport, or that want a family-feel while still having a quality room/stay.

Room Tip: Gorgeous courtyard/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have stayed at Sunrock 5 times while transitting through Johannesburg and have always looked forward to my stay at Sunrock as the owners Ina and Arthur are so welcoming and reliable with the airport pick up. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and the breakfast and dinners are very nice and reasonably priced. Our last visit we stayed for 2 nights. Arthur suggested we go on the Gautrain to Rosebank and then to Nelson Mandela Square for lunch to fill in one of the days.My mobile wasn't working so Ina kindly lent me a mobile, then took us to the Gautrain and picked us up when we returned. You just would not get this kind of personalised service at a large hotel. Arthur and Ina go out of their way to make you feel welcome and relaxed. Definitely THE place to stay close to the airport in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Sunrock Guesthouse first of all is very conveniently located near the Jo'burg airport and if you need a place to stay before or after your flight, this is definately the place to stay. The others are mostly overpriced hotels. Great rooms, good breakfast, nice pool, very friendly people, free pickups and dropoffs at the airport and the communal guestarea is great and huge with a pool table, darts, braai (BBQ), bar, internet access, seats etc. Safe area, easily reached by car if you rented one. Only negative thing is leaving this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,125 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing