We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunrock Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$133
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$330
$264
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$285
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Rock Hotel(Kempton Park)
$283
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$71
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,480)
Filter reviews
1,480 results
Traveler rating
932
471
62
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
932
471
62
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportguest houseother guestsone nightexcellent place to staynext morningtrain stationhonesty barairport pickupfelt very safenice poolan oasislong flightswimming poolbuffet dinnerjo burghome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
1,215 - 1,220 of 1,480 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Sunrock Guesthouse first of all is very conveniently located near the Jo'burg airport and if you need a place to stay before or after your flight, this is definately the place to stay. The others are mostly overpriced hotels. Great rooms, good breakfast, nice pool, very friendly people, free pickups and dropoffs at the airport and the communal guestarea is great and huge with a pool table, darts, braai (BBQ), bar, internet access, seats etc. Safe area, easily reached by car if you rented one. Only negative thing is leaving this place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised to find that in Johannesburg, airport lodgings go beyond the usual chain-motel options. Sunrock was pretty and comfortable, with nice rooms, a swimming pool, a large and cozy communal area, a generous South Africa-style breakfast (lots of protein!), and friendly and helpful staff. A nice bonus: they'll pick you up at the airport, so you don't have to worry about finding a taxi. There's also a bar, but it was closed when I was there.
Downsides... yes, it is close to the airport, so you'll hear the planes -- not in a super-loud way, but they're there. And if you hoped to explore the neighborhood for a few hours before catching your next flight... there isn't anything to explore in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marionsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed at Sunrock at the beginning of a volunteer trip I made to South Africa. As promised, I was met at the airport by Henry and delivered to the guesthouse. I had a lovely dinner, then headed to my room for some sleep. The room was super clean and comfortable. At the end of my trip I had planned to stay with Ina and Arthur again, but my plans changed and they happily refunded my prepaid room charge. Over all a great experience. I highly recommend Sunrock Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Perfect transit hotel (for stopovers in Johannesburg). Good and reliable airport pick-up and drop-off service. Modern facilities, nice room, good shower, good bar, decent breakfast, correct price, good value for money. Can be booked via the internet.All what you need for a stop-over night in OR Tambo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

from the moment you are greeted by arthur and ina you will be know you came to the right place, very relaxed atmosphere, good spacious rooms,great food and a unique honesty bar thats great for chilling out. cant recommend sunrock highly enough

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews