We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This small hotel is close to the airport and has great service. They went above and beyond the call of duty to make my stay comfortable. They ferried me around town whenever I needed to go and took good care of me when I came down with a cold. Comfortable, clean rooms and relaxing atmosphere; family-friendly setting at a great price. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    405
    54
    4
    7
See reviews for
301
413
236
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I like to start my review with the positives. I thought this would be a relatively inexpensive and adequate place for a one right stay and I wanted to be close to the airport. It is close to the airport (although you will have problems finding it unless you have a Garmin or Tom Tom) and is very clean. That is the end of the positives. The house is in a very scary location. Even behind the solid metal gate it is scary and the noises outside the wall at night were not comforting; it is frightening to exit the secured area. The rooms were adequate, but the bed I had was so rock hard that I actually had movement problems the next day--when I discovered that rather than a box spring they had used a sheet of fiberboard to support the mattress. Many of the rooms have the shower and sink actually in the bedroom, with no separation. The atmosphere was anything but friendly; the only concern of the host and hostess was to get receipts signed or payments made. They were running around doing who knows what, but what they were not doing was paying attention to the guests. Requests for assistance on a few matters were rebuffed, and they had no interest even in providing directions. Worse than all this was the breakfast, which was chaotic and in the end wholly inedible. There was a cook in the kitchen who had no idea how to cook any of the food and was overwhelmed with the situation. Both owners were aware of the situation and did nothing to rectify it. The non-cooked food was on the low end of the scale. Also note that the professional photos on the website are a fairy tale. Take a look at guest photo # 8 for a realistic view of the outside and #16 for the rooms (and note that they have set the professional photos into the guest photo section).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Practicality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at Sunrock twice over two seperate occasions as part of our honeymoon. We used them as a stopver whilst waiting for our flights and found it perfect for this. The free airport transfer is a great addition and the rooms are lovely and clean and great value for money. The staff are brilliant and go out of their way to help you in anyway possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshgirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here on 3 different occasions during our holiday around South Africa. Arthur cooks the MOST amazing BBQ. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hosts are welcoming and hospitable. It really is very handy being collected and dropped to the airport and we felt very safe staying in the sunrock.
Arthur sat with us and gave us some really good recommendations before we took off in our rental car. All of which we did. It was home from home!
I would recommend this accomodation very highly!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We arrived at Johannesburg airport and were met by a friendly driver who delivered our bags to our door. The Sunrock is about 10mins from the airport, and offers transfers for free when booking.The room, although small, had 2 very comfortable beds and plenty of hot water for a shower or bath. We were able to have a homemade dinner and drink for 90 Rand (just over $10US). Hot or cold breakfast is also included and was delicious. The Sunrock is quiet, and all staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. They arranged a tour, stored our luggage for the day and transferred us to the airport again when we wanted to go. Five-star service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night en-route to Tanzania. They collected us from the airport, fed us a delicious steak, fed us a large and tasty breakfast and dropped us off at the airport again .......... all very efficiently and professionally with a large dose of personal care. Thank you Ina and Arthur for a stress-free stop-over.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a very friendly establishment with fantastic service and food. Very convenient and well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,922 reviews
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing