We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people!”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I had to stay in Joburg near the hotel for one night and found the perfect place!! The hosts were great, I was picked up at the airport, had dinner with them, and had a great time having a few drinks in their lovely company! For one night, forget the overpriced airport hotels, enjoy a more affordable and relaxed option !

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximeC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2011

I spent only 1 night in the guest house but really enjoyed the atmosphere and the comfortable clean rooms, would have stayed long but was only passing through. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Arthur and Ina....What can I say? The personal professionalism from you both is absolutely perfect.It feels like I am at home but away from home.the way that you conducted yourselves in such a friendly way and going out of your way to please us as your guests.Nothing was too much trouble for you guys.The facilities are so modern with DSTV,WiFi, impeccably clean rooms as well as the well kept garden and lawns.The Swimming Pool was always immaculate and so BLUE!!! The pool table, Trampoline, Big Screen in an African Lapa was so welcome.We could watch the English Premiership Football and the Super 15 Rugby matches whilst imbibing on an ice-cold beverage from your lovely Bar.Whist Adele and Myself were out doing what we had to you treated our kids admirably...so much that they did not want to leave. The Steaks and Chops that you braaiied for us were superb and exactly to our liking.The morning Breakfasts were awesome and we were not allowed to leave the breakfast room until we were full. I can say so much more but there wont be enough space.
SO....In a NUTSHELL..... Sun Rock is the first Guesthouse that we have visited where we were treated 5 star, ate 5 star, rooms 5 star and facilities 5 star.
WELL DONE GUYS....To any potential Guests that are looking for the best place to stay in Johannesburg do yourself a favour and take my word....Stay at SUNROCK.
Thank you once again....WE ARRIVED AS STRANGERS AND WE DEPARTED AS FRIENDS

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidHeathCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We were met late at night at the airport by Henry and transported directly to our room, with the exception of the beer in the lapa toget rid of the driness from the air travel from Detroit, Michigan. This was just what we needed.

Met Arthur and Ina the next morning... very gracious follks, make you feel right at home. They even had a hair dryer on hand to loan the ladies, since we only had UK plugs, not South Africa.

The members of the staff that we met were very friendly and accommodating. Eggs at breakfast are made to order.

The guesthouse itself is very charming with a nice pool to sit around and relax. Another beer in the lapa before heading back to the airport isn't bad , either.

Ina and Arthur gave us some great tips for our upcoming journey to Kruger, which came in very handy. Henry carted us off to the airport and sent us on our way with a smile.

Sure beats staying at the airport hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the king bed rooms adjoing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGHBerkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed in this guesthouse for two nights prior to going on a safari and then one night before flying home. The owners couldn't do more to make our stay a good one. Giving us lifts into the Mall when we said we wanted to go shopping. Making two trips to the airport on the day we were leaving as some members of our party were flying in the morning and others in the evening. They even came back and picked us up after we saw daughter off from the airport in the morning. We were able to keep our room all day before flying back to the uk in the evening at no extra cost. Supper each evening we were there was tasty and reasonably priced and the full choice of breakfast a good start to the day. We were even able to have a full cooked breakfast before setting off for our safari trip at 6.45am. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiemoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The evening meal was delicious and breakfast is cooked to order. I was picked up at the airport and taken back the next morning with no problems. I have recommended this guesthouse to several people are am planning to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Very conveniently located near the airport. They will pick you up, or take you to the airport at no extra charge. Easy to get to if you have a rental car. Very nice people, courteous, friendly, helpful, good food, nice rooms, very clean. Great place to stay for that first night after a long flight, or that last night before a long flight. If you arrange ahead, you can get dinner there as well as breakfast. I would definitely stay with Ina and her family again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATraveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,270 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing