We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Welcome Spot.”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We were met late at night at the airport by Henry and transported directly to our room, with the exception of the beer in the lapa toget rid of the driness from the air travel from Detroit, Michigan. This was just what we needed.

Met Arthur and Ina the next morning... very gracious follks, make you feel right at home. They even had a hair dryer on hand to loan the ladies, since we only had UK plugs, not South Africa.

The members of the staff that we met were very friendly and accommodating. Eggs at breakfast are made to order.

The guesthouse itself is very charming with a nice pool to sit around and relax. Another beer in the lapa before heading back to the airport isn't bad , either.

Ina and Arthur gave us some great tips for our upcoming journey to Kruger, which came in very handy. Henry carted us off to the airport and sent us on our way with a smile.

Sure beats staying at the airport hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the king bed rooms adjoing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGHBerkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed in this guesthouse for two nights prior to going on a safari and then one night before flying home. The owners couldn't do more to make our stay a good one. Giving us lifts into the Mall when we said we wanted to go shopping. Making two trips to the airport on the day we were leaving as some members of our party were flying in the morning and others in the evening. They even came back and picked us up after we saw daughter off from the airport in the morning. We were able to keep our room all day before flying back to the uk in the evening at no extra cost. Supper each evening we were there was tasty and reasonably priced and the full choice of breakfast a good start to the day. We were even able to have a full cooked breakfast before setting off for our safari trip at 6.45am. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiemoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The evening meal was delicious and breakfast is cooked to order. I was picked up at the airport and taken back the next morning with no problems. I have recommended this guesthouse to several people are am planning to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Very conveniently located near the airport. They will pick you up, or take you to the airport at no extra charge. Easy to get to if you have a rental car. Very nice people, courteous, friendly, helpful, good food, nice rooms, very clean. Great place to stay for that first night after a long flight, or that last night before a long flight. If you arrange ahead, you can get dinner there as well as breakfast. I would definitely stay with Ina and her family again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATraveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Sunrock is the best place to start a vacation to south africa. Ina and Auther are very friendly and lovely people. We missed our flight and had to fly standby for 3 days in a row and they were awsome. They helped us a lot and did not make a fuss about anything.

thumbs up 5 stars..

Dwight taylor

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

close to airport and great service, do anything to help and very friendly. Made our lay over when jet lagged very easy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddy6386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We also stayed at Sunrock Guesthouse. We arrived late in the night because we had a delay of our flight from Holland. Arthur waited for us. We were tired but we felled directly at home. Also his wife Ina is a nice person. It felled like home.
The second day we visited with a guide Soweto and Johannesburg. We had not much time but when you visit Soweto the Hektor Pieterson Museum is a must.
The room we had was very big. Three person could sleep there.
At night we had a delicous braai.
Arthur and Ina brougt us the day we left to the airport where we picked up our rented car.
It was a perfect stay at the beginning of our holiday. If we go to S.A. again we choose them to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limburgwereldburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 27 in Kempton Park
615 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $76 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing