We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for a stopover in Joberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We ended up stumbling across this hotel as we were delayed in Joberg for 2 days due to a missed flight connection. An airline put us up here as an 'obligation of their service' so we had low expectations, but on arriving, we found a great hotel, lovely service, heaps of character, all minutes from the airport, with regular half hourly shuttles to and from the airport. Whilst staying near any airport rarely does any city justice, we could easily get into joberg for sight seeing, and for a short stop over it was a very convenient choice.

The entire theme of the Hotel is 'air travel' with heaps of kookie decorations, crates, engine parts, quotes on walls and even a flight simulator in the lobby area you can play with! All the services you would expect from a high standard city hotel, such as room service, wireless internet, restaurant, bar, pool, gym ect.

The staff were all extremely helpful, despite being beside an airport and a little noisy, the pool area was still fantastic, and very relaxing. Breakfast was by far the best we had throughout our 3 weeks in africa. Everything about this hotel made an otherwise very inconventient jilt in our travel plans, extremely comfortable

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whittlkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

Very reasonably priced, great location with a free shuttle from the airport. Hotel was fairly quiet for an airport hotel. The staff was very friendly and the food was nice. While small, the rooms were very clean and well designed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here for one night earlier this month. I've stayed at plenty of Protea hotels over the years but this one was the best yet. We loved all the quirky little touches throughout the hotel as a result of the aviation theme. It was great to see something different for a change...

The rooms were adequately sized with nice amenities and decor, comfortable, except perhaps for an overly firm bed.

The breakfast buffet, whilst enjoyable was a little over-priced for our liking. The pool area is truly magnificent and looked more like something you'd find at a Balinese 5 star resort. Really very cool!

All-in-all the hotel is a great place to stay and very convenient to the airport and Eastgate Mall.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Like the other reviews, I agree it's clean, cool, comfortable but I need an airport hotel and booked this one because of the advertised proximity to airport and the most of all, the 'sound proof rooms'. This is not the case! If you need to stay by the airport and don't actually want to hear every plane taxi, then don't stay here. If you don't mind that, then it's fine. I also had to wait a while for the shuttle from the aiport. With the new train to Sandton in under 9 minutes, there is really no need to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Just to add another compliment to all the others. We arranged our own air arrival to join a tour group. First, don't let the dreary, industrial exterior turn you off. We got to the hotel about 11 a.m., which was considerably before check-in. The woman at the front desk said none of the rooms blocked out for the tour group (there were 8 rooms for the group) were ready, but she would immediately send someone to clean one. She told us to have a cup of coffee in the lounge (on the house) while we waited. We did so, and about 20 minutes later, she said she had a room ready for us. Delightful. Great entertainment value with clever quips on the coasters and signs throughout the hotel. There is a business center with free internet, but you have to look for it. Also free coffee and cookies throughout the day. Very good breakfast. A tip if you have time. You can take the hotel shuttle back to the airport and pick up the shuttle for the Emperor's Palace Hotel, which has a casino. Even if you don't gamble, there is an excellent Greek restaurant in the casino called Platia. Food was exceptional and prices were good. The owner came by to greet us, and they had belly dancers.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

The hotel has a wonderful avaiation theme running through the entire design and decor. The rooms are immaculate and very modern. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Take the time to look at all the little aviation related decor items in the lobby area. The items range from a flight simulator, aviation engine pieces and instruments all over the place. The bar area has stools made out of airplane tyres held togehter by seat belts. Very fun!

The pool area is very well laid out and is very relaxing - especially with the close proximity to where the Airbus A380's are parked in the day. On the day I was in the hotel there were 2 A380's parked not more than 100m away from the hotel! One was Lufthansa and the other was Air France. What an awesome sight!

This is without a doubt the most pleasant hotel experience I have had.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no_air_no_lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

This place was a like a breath of fresh air. From the lifts to the toilet paper, they make you smile with little humorous touches. The room was awesome. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#16 of 26 in Kempton Park
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $86 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing