We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This is a really nice hotel, great rooms, nice decor, although a minibar or small fridge in the room would be nice. About 5 minutes from airport by free shuttle bus. Good breakfast buffet. Staff was very friendly, even arranged for transport to a nearby mall and the driver came to pick us up when we were done.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night en route to somewhere else. Great airport hotel. Didn't use the pool but it looked good. Food was nice though and reasonably priced. Great staff. Very helpful. Picked me up from the airport with only 10 minutes' notice.

Room was nice but small. Was in a twin room and so had a single bed. Corridor was a little noisy as some American tourists thought it was reasonable to stand outside my door discussing their plans at 6am etc. Not the hotel's fault really but there are a lot of people coming and going.

Would stay here again. Had free wireless, a big plus for me.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, rooms are very big and modern, staff is friendly and very helpfull. I really like what they have done with the hotel it looks really really nice! I would recomend this hotel to any one!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Michelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We wanted an easy place to stay since we were arriving late in Joberg. Within 20 minutes of calling for the shuttle, we were at the hotel and happily checked in. Friendly & helpful staff, good food at the restaurant, 24 hour room service (a bonus when you arrive at 11 pm). Lobby design is sort of modern Afro-Industrial, rooms are very comfortable and clean. Soundproofing is brilliant - the location is across the highway from the airport, but you hear neither jets nor traffic. The outdoor patio and wading pool is a very comfortable place to relax, though you don't expect it to be as you're next to an airport. As a new hotel, the only hiccup when we stayed was the liquor license wasn't in yet, but that should be fixed soon, if it isn't already. Really, it's sort of a small oasis, for a fraction of what the hotels attached to the terminals cost.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edison200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

pick up was free and easy. rooms brand new, great design, comfy beds, great gym but no booze license yet............... a winner

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

This is a new airport hotel with the best staff I have come across.
Nothing but nothing is a problem , if its not there they will find some way of you being able to acess what you need.
The check in was so easy and friendly, there is all day juice by the entrance and a flight simulator also for guests, Fantastic !!
the rooms are very nicely appointed with very comfy beds.
The showers are a glass cubicle in the room , so if you are staying as 2 people but not a couple could be a problem.Seperate bath tub and enclosed toilet.
No aircraft noise but can get great views of the airport and runways if you like.
I can highly reccomend this hotel and their fantastic staff.
For transfer contac the hotel on arrival and the car will meet you at The Lux tours counter behind the Intercontinental hotel.
Oh it has a fantastic pool too .

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brizzeyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todos os quartos são muito silenciosos. Fica ao lado do aeroporto, mas não há barulho nos quartos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caiovictorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $82 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star airport hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. The industrial aviation ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing