We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed March 22, 2014

i have stayed at the OR Tambo Protea Hotel on 5 different occasions, and it is situated close to the OR Tambo Airport in Johannesburg.

The Hotel lobby is quite nice and has a industrial motif to it which is very different. The rooms are cleans, but small and functional, and the hotel over is in good state of repair.

The staff and service at check in is slow to say the least, and the interaction with the guests just acceptable, but the hotel serves its purpose well, which for me is an overnight stay en route to a game lodge in Namibia or Sabi Sand.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear gslabbert5119

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your recent visit to our hotel.

I have sat down with my TEAM to discuss the situation regarding check in that takes longer than necessary but am glad that they show the Hospitality that we are so proud of.

I am sure we will see again and we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

I facilitated a day long conference at the hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel decor is quite unusual and the conference venue is superb. Nothing was a problem for the conference staff. Refreshments were superb and different to the usual conference fare e.g. little boxes of popcorn for the afternoon session. The lunch buffet was extensive and the staff go out of their way to accommodate all tastes. I would definitely go back or suggest this venue to other clients looking for training or meeting venues. Just a word of caution. While the hotel is close to the airport and the Gautrain stop, it is not easy to get to but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Wendy K
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your stay with us. Consistency is the name of the game and I will congratulate the TEAM on their efforts.

We are firm believers in getting the basics right and reading your comments will motivate the STAFF to continue achieving these high standards.

Complimentary transfers are available to and from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station, be sure to ask reception to arrange this for you on your next visit to us.

We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was in transit, so the location of the hotel and free shuffle were very conveniente. The hotel decoration is beautiful with air theme. Check in and check out were quick and efficient. The rooms are practical and confortable. My only problem was with the internet that did not work in the rooms and my sheets that were not well cleaned, but I was too tired to complain. In conclusion I would stay in Protea Hotel OR Tambo again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabrielaGSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear GabrielaGSilva

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

The designers were very creative with the décor and truly wanted to capture the essence of what an Airport Hotel could be. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

I apologise for sheets as well as the internet, I will look into this matter immediately to ensure that we sort out this problem so that this does not occur again.

Thank you once again for the feedback and I hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I spent the night in this hotel in my flyback to Brazil. It is located nearby to OR International airport and has a shuttle server as complimentary.

It has a interesting style resembling to an "old facility" or "warehouse". It is pretty charming, clean and well located.

The Wi-fi free, but it is limited to 250MB per day.

The price is not that cheap (ZAR 1,805.00 without breakfast), but I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaelHerthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear RafaelHerthel
Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your recent visit to our hotel.

Our complimentary shuttle is perfect for the traveller passing through and we make it even easier with our scheduled times.

Thank you so much for the review and be sure to visit us again when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here just one night after the long flight from the US. We were exhausted and irritable. But this hotel revived us. Lovely lighting, a comfortable bed and a great shower. What more could you want? We heard no aircraft noise. The breakfast buffet was extensive and well presented and the chef doing the omelet was excellent. The decor is fun. I would stay here again most definitely! Note to the uber picky - the rooms are quite compact but are very sensibly arranged and are convenient but if you are looking for a lot of spread out space this would not be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear merf56

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.
We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your recent visit to our hotel.

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

I am sure we will see again and we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is well placed right across from the airport and has a free shuttle. Rooms are good, with comfortable beds and the meals are decent. Unfortunately there seems to be only the buffet or room service, but headed back to the airport for a meal is also a good option as there are many restaurants there.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank GlobL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear GlobL

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

Our complimentary shuttle is perfect for the traveller passing through and we make it even easier with our scheduled times.

We are truly sorry that you were unable to experience the diverse Buffet and al la Carte Menu that we have availible and hope that with your next stay you will be able to do so as our chefs ensure the best of quality foods they have to offer.

Thank you so much for the review and be sure to visit us again when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you don't mind staying next to a highway, listening to the planes take off, loud music in the restaurant 24/7, your laundry coming back dirty or staff that is rude and unhelpful, then stay here. Also, the hotel debited more than we spent on our credit cards!!!!!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank ML M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear ML M

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.

It is extremely disappointing to hear of your experience and please accept my sincere apologies; this is certainly not the standard of service we are usually so proud to offer.

I would like to assure you I have launched an investigation regarding the incident with you credit card. We pride ourselves in having strict procedures in place to prevent any mishaps like this, however because this occurred we are busy investigating and re-evaluating our procedures and taking the necessary action.

As a TEAM we have sat down to discuss your comment and we will be liaising with all relevant parties to ensure that this does not occur again.

Your feedback is invaluable.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
1 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $84 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star airport hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. The industrial aviation ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing