We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay for flight recovery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent stay for flight recovery”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our group of 9 enjoyed this hotel immensely on our 1-day stopover enroute to Cape Town. The hotel rooms were clean, modern, well appointed, and the wifi signal was good. The small exercise room was conveniently close and adequate. One member of our party left her passport in the exercise room in the evening, and was able to retrieve it from the desk clerk the next morning. Disaster averted. Funky industrial design. Superb buffet breakfast. What we needed before setting out again on our air travels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamestenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear jamestenns

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your stay with us. Consistency is the name of the game and I will congratulate the TEAM on their efforts.

We are firm believers in getting the basics right and reading your comments will motivate the STAFF to continue achieving these high standards.

We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    477
    179
    82
    25
See reviews for
89
404
124
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay in this hotel.

The friendly service and the aviation decor make it a must for us. If you like aircraft make sure you get a room facing the airport. The cannot be many places where you can see two A380's out of your window.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris5630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Chris5630

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such favourable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Friendly is definitely a word I like to hear when GUESTS are referring to our STAFF. Our search for excellence is on-going and your feedback will motivate the STAFF to continue achieving these high standards

The designers were very creative with the décor and truly wanted to capture the essence of what an Airport Hotel could be. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to show you true Protea Hospitality.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Clean, well maintained rooms with modern facilities. Staff were well trained and professional, friendly and accommodating. Wifi available. Meal menu was varied and well presented, not to mention, very enjoyable. A definite thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Verna B
Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.
We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your stay with us. Consistency is the name of the game and I will congratulate the TEAM on their efforts
Thank you once again for the feedback and I hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Very close to the international airport. Good cost benefit.
Free internet, good bed, good shower.
Food is well prepared. It is not excepcional but works for an airport hotel.
Good option for those who want or need to stay close to the airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Eduardo T

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is good to know that we could have been of assistance regarding to the close proximity of the airport and convenience of the location.

Your recommendation is appreciated and I hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My stay at Protea Hotel was fine until the bag-handler took our bags to hold for an hour and robbed my camera from inside my bag. HIS NAME IS VINCENT. He still works at the hotel because the manager did not want to find a new employee. They do not have cameras in the bag room. Vincent, is conniving. Do NOT let him touch your bags. The hotel service is decent, but none of the employees really have a good attitude at all. I will never return and neither will my friends or family...my memories from the end of my trip are gone forever because of this thief. He even told me that the camera was not in the hotel anymore because HE took it! THIEF! THIEF! THIEF! I would not leave anything in the room whatsoever...I am sure the room service workers are thieves also!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanbuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Amanbuh

Please allow me to express our most sincere apologies for the loss of your camera during your recent stay at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. The mere fact that this incident happened on the last night of your trip to South Africa is regrettable and certainly is not a reflection of how we treat our GUESTS. The investigation into this matter allowed us the opportunity to review our current policies and procedures pertaining to the safe keeping and handling of GUEST luggage. As a result we have, with immediate effect, ordered the installation of security cameras inside the GUEST luggage storage facility as well as electronic key access, which would give us better control over GUEST valuables in future.

Further to the above, I am saddened by the fact that I will not be able to give back the pictures you have captured of our beautiful country and the lovely places you have visited. Although we could not beyond reasonable doubt establish the direct cause of the disappearance of the camera, we certainly felt it necessary to take it upon ourselves to at least compensate you for the loss of your camera. If in any small way this gesture allows for you and your partner’s perception of Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport to change, I believe we have made some progress. At Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport our GUESTS’ comfort and safety are and will always be our most important priorities.

Once again, please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, should you require any further assistance.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Closed to the airport, we though it would be great to stay here after a 1300km drive to Jozi, next day to pick up friends arriving from overseas...
Check in was OK, no toilette brush so, read the from the previous guy and you understand.
After I phoned, they brought me the most horrible unclean brush...jucky terrible.....
We found out at 1:30am that the air on was off and did not work. Phoned room service and nobody could help. Room temperature for the night 27deg...! Not fun.....
The restaurant was great, super service, had a great steak - hanger - so staff did not knew what cut of meat it was.....all in all the restaurant super, hotel must be better managed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear ThomasS

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.

It is extremely disappointing to hear of your experience and please accept my sincere apologies; this is certainly not the standard of service we are usually so proud to offer.

I have taken note of all of your concerns regarding your room, Aircon, and housekeeping. It is embarrassing to hear of your experience and I have raised this with the relevant TEAM members.

I would like to assure you that we have already done the necessary investigations and carried out the needed disciplinary action regarding what had occurred to ensure that this does not happen again.

Once again I sincerely apologise and thank you for the feedback.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Close to the airport, well appointed rooms, nice dining and pool area. Great place to get a good night's sleep before the safari. Amazingly quiet and very helpful and friendly staff. Shuttle service runs regularly to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEJetSetGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear thindain

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your recent visit to our hotel.

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

Your recommendation is appreciated and I hope to host you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing