We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked into Protea Hotel by company, first impressions were " when's it going to be finished and would it be noisy due to the close vicinity to the runway", but i was pleasantly suprised by no noise in room or inside of bar and restaurant area.
Decor to the inside of building is a little strange, a little garage/warehouse, but hey it worked.
All staff very friendly and polite and rooms more than adequate for that one night/day stop before flying out or moving on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear tobyowen

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We aim to not only meet, but exceed GUEST expectations and I am thrilled that we achieved this during your stay.

We are proud to offer comfortable accommodation near the airport without being effected by the noise. The theme throughout the hotel is aviation and definitely has a warehouse look and feel.

Your comments about the STAFF remind me of the amazing TEAM that I get to work with every day and I will certainly commend them.

Until next time, we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

* They have free-shuttle to the airport every 30 minutes..
* The decoration is a industrial look...very nice!
* They have really good food in the buffet...the prices are fair.
* The staff very helpful.
* They have wifi and also ipads at the lobby which you can use.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janneth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Janneth V

Thank you for the great comments and lovely title.

You have highlighted our unique offerings and all the reasons to stay at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport.

Our complimentary shuttles to and from the airport, aviation themed décor, Wi-Fi, helpful STAFF and the tasty meals are some of the areas that make us more than the average airport hotel.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the first and last night of our South African visit, we chose it because of its proximity to the airport.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, check in was quick and the rooms very well appointed. The options for dinner and breakfast were very good, and the restaurant service prompt. The bar staff are also very good.
My only compalint would be the shuttle service, which only runs on thirty minute intervals, and their bus is small...other hotels in the area run on a more frequent schedule...i woudl recommend taking a taxi to save time. and the porters in the airport are quite pushy.

Room Tip: take a taxi from the airport...shuttle is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinoBambinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear VinoBambinos

Thank you for choosing Protea Hotels during your trip to South Africa.

Offering the best GUEST service is a top priority at the hotel and I am happy to hear the STAFF was friendly and helpful. I will definitely make mention of this to them and congratulate them as well.

I apologise if you felt that the shuttle was slow and small. I will look into our intervals and discuss with the TEAM regarding shortening them.

It is good to note that you found the rooms to have all that you needs and that the food and beverage facilities in the hotel were very good.

Until your next trip to Johannesburg, we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We selected Protea Tambo at Joh'berg simply because we had an wonderfull experience at Protea-SeaPoint Capetown..But we got to know just being protea you can't be good. Poor experience..Unreceptive Staff, literally No Room Service, Bad Food experienceN Rooms & Pacess were like walking in woods..I don't recommend this hotel simply because of the staff working there - not receptive guys!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D-Ronak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear D-Ronak

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with Protea Hotels.

Consistency is very important throughout our hotels and I am extremely sorry that we disappointed you. We aim to provide the best GUEST service and your comments do not reflect this. Please accept my apologies for your experience.

I can assure you that I will address this with the STAFF as we understand the importance of GUEST satisfaction.

I would welcome the opportunity of discussing this with you further and ask you to email me your details to gm@phortambo.com so I can contact you.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

not the best, but not the worst. this is a typical airport hotel. Food was OK, but not great. bus ride to the terminal, swimming pool and nice place to sit and read. wonderful staff and very helpful. this is a one night hotel while passing through the airport.

Room Tip: any room will work, this is one night place, pick room on parking side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear richard k

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It is always great to hear that the STAFF is friendly and helpful as we continuously aim to provide the best GUEST service.

I am disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations and that your stay was just ‘OK’. The TEAM will definitely make a concerted effort to go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that we are more than just the average airport hotel.

I would welcome the opportunity of discussing this with you further and ask you to email me your details to gm@phortambo.com so I can contact you.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrived in Johannesburg airport after an overnight flight and were picked up by hotel shuttle. Our tour operator had requested an early check in for us when booking but we were not guaranteed. The hotel check in time is 14:00. We got into our lovely comfy, modern designed room at 12:00. Great bed, excellent shower, all looked very clean. While waiting we were offered as much free coffee as we could drink. The hotel is designed to resemble an aeroplane hanger, well done and very tasteful. Very good service in the bar in the evening and food served till late. Very good breakfast. Nice friendly staff. Good start to our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkEvertonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear CorkEvertonFan

Your review was a pleasure to read and thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor.

Although an early check in is not always possible, our STAFF do their best to accommodate GUESTS as we know that travelling is tiring.

I am pleased that the unique décor and design was to your liking and it was well complimented by the friendly STAFF.

We are only too happy to have been a great start to your holiday.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hip new decor with a renovated industrial aesthetic. Dinner buffet with good selection and a bar playing soft rock music. Lounge chairs around an outdoor swimming pool. Rooms are great; had one with a view of some airplanes. Convenient shuttle van to and from the airport, which is what you really need if you're staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear tbl123

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

I love how you describe the décor to be hip and industrial. The designers went all out when creating this amazing airport side hotel.

The dinner buffet, swimming pool and comfortable rooms are just some of the features that make Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport ‘a convenient place for a stopover’. I am delighted that you enjoyed them as well as your view of the planes from your room.

I hope you will visit us when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#16 of 26 in Kempton Park
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $86 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing