We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed September 25, 2013

not the best, but not the worst. this is a typical airport hotel. Food was OK, but not great. bus ride to the terminal, swimming pool and nice place to sit and read. wonderful staff and very helpful. this is a one night hotel while passing through the airport.

Room Tip: any room will work, this is one night place, pick room on parking side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear richard k

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It is always great to hear that the STAFF is friendly and helpful as we continuously aim to provide the best GUEST service.

I am disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations and that your stay was just ‘OK’. The TEAM will definitely make a concerted effort to go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that we are more than just the average airport hotel.

I would welcome the opportunity of discussing this with you further and ask you to email me your details to gm@phortambo.com so I can contact you.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrived in Johannesburg airport after an overnight flight and were picked up by hotel shuttle. Our tour operator had requested an early check in for us when booking but we were not guaranteed. The hotel check in time is 14:00. We got into our lovely comfy, modern designed room at 12:00. Great bed, excellent shower, all looked very clean. While waiting we were offered as much free coffee as we could drink. The hotel is designed to resemble an aeroplane hanger, well done and very tasteful. Very good service in the bar in the evening and food served till late. Very good breakfast. Nice friendly staff. Good start to our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkEvertonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear CorkEvertonFan

Your review was a pleasure to read and thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor.

Although an early check in is not always possible, our STAFF do their best to accommodate GUESTS as we know that travelling is tiring.

I am pleased that the unique décor and design was to your liking and it was well complimented by the friendly STAFF.

We are only too happy to have been a great start to your holiday.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hip new decor with a renovated industrial aesthetic. Dinner buffet with good selection and a bar playing soft rock music. Lounge chairs around an outdoor swimming pool. Rooms are great; had one with a view of some airplanes. Convenient shuttle van to and from the airport, which is what you really need if you're staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear tbl123

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

I love how you describe the décor to be hip and industrial. The designers went all out when creating this amazing airport side hotel.

The dinner buffet, swimming pool and comfortable rooms are just some of the features that make Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport ‘a convenient place for a stopover’. I am delighted that you enjoyed them as well as your view of the planes from your room.

I hope you will visit us when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very happy with hotel. Close to airport with complimentary shuttle on the half hour. Service was very good in the restaurant. Rooms are boutique, a little small but smartly designed. Everything is clean and new feel. Bed is incredible, high count sheets...shower is perfect, rain shower head. Coffee in room but also coffee machine downstairs complimentary. Nice fitness center, free 500mb of internet per day. Great price point for the quality. Would come again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaJCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Diceman777

Thank you for the ‘5 out of 5’ score and recommendation of the hotel.

Protea Hotel has a strong service culture and we aim to offer only the best. Your comments reassure me that the TEAM is committed and I will congratulate them on this.

As many of our GUESTS have been travelling, we make sure that our beds are very comfortable and the linen is crisp. I am pleased that the rain shower head and complimentary coffee in the lobby added great value to your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

An okish hotel that is not really at OR hotel. Room was clean. Breakfast was very nice and tasty. A glitch at check in may annoy some travellers. Had requested for a room with 2 beds but they gave us one with a double bed. Checkout was fast.
The one thing that really put me off is that the hotel is not really at OR Tambo. Shuttle service was full so I ended up paying 100 rands for a trip to th airport in a taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mbuyaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Mbuyaaaa

Thank you for taking the tie to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor.

A clean and comfortable room, as well as a wholesome breakfast to kick start the day is something we are proud to offer.

I apologise for the mix up at check in and for the inconvenience caused regarding the shuttle. I will look into this matter further to prevent it from happening again.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to show you true Protea hospitality.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A welcome hotel after an 18 hour flight from Washington, DC - clean, comfortable, sterile decor. It is odd to have a shower in the bedroom part of the room rather than in the bathroom.
Breakfast was fine, dinner mediocre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Zuzka E

After such a long flight I am glad to hear that we could offer you clean and comfortable accommodation to get some rest. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Your comments regarding the layout of the room have been noted. The aim of the layout is to provide our GUESTS with more space in the room. I will also be speaking with the restaurant TEAM to discuss the below par dinner you experienced.

I hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here twice while on the Overseas Adventure Travel Ultimate Africa trip. Many OAT groups are cycled through this hotel and it is a good choice. Clean, well managed, nice staff and a short trip to the airport (shuttle provided by the hotel) which is in the backyard of the hotel. Airport noise wasn't a problem. Nice breakfast buffet. There are absolutely no restaurants or entertainment within walking distance so unless you take a cab, you are stuck at the hotel. The restaurant is casual and just fine for a night or two. There is a small bar area and a concierge to arrange sight seeing trips. There is a nice outside seating area by the pool and rooms all have safes. There is ample seating in the lounge area and a VERY nice touch is 2 ipads set up on pedestals with seats for free use by hotel customers. Wifi is strong in the lounge but weak in the rooms. Would I stay there again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Robin H

Thank you for your fantastic comments and valuable feedback regarding your stay.

An all-round positive stay is what we aim for all GUESTS to experience with us. Your mention of our location and convenience thereof is spot on. Not to mention that one can still get a good night’s sleep with no noise from the planes.

As for the rest of your stay, I am happy that the restaurant and bar area provided ample seating and tasty meals. Maybe your next visit will be during our summer and you can spend some time by the pool.

We do our best to ensure that our GUESTS stay connected and the i-pads and 500mb daily complimentary Wi-Fi are our way of doing so.

Until your next trip, we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,318 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $82 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star airport hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. The industrial aviation ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing