We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed September 4, 2013

its conveniently located next to the airport and has a shuttle service to and fro every 30mins. The rooms are nice and comfortable but the idea of having the toilet next to the entry door is somewhat not cool. improvements in staff courtesy is needed. took me 38 mins to get checked in because my room wasnt ready, and that was at 4;30pm. Appalling. receptionist did not even acknowledge my prescence. Bar tender was too casual with his language, greeted me with a "yetta bro- what can i get you"- i was shocked. the receptionist Frank was very helpful and very proffessional-thumbs up to him. buffet meals were pretty average and lacking in depth and creativity. all in all good place for business travel.

Room Tip: choose the rooms on the west side, there is less noise of planes taking off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viskis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear viskis2013

GUEST feedback is very important to us and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy that the hotel was perfect for your business trip. However, I can assure you that the concerns you raised will be receiving my urgent attention. There is no excuse for you room not being available at that time of the day.

I will sit down with the bar and restaurant TEAMS to discuss your comments about the quality of the buffet as well as the STAFF attitude. We aim to provide the best GUEST service and more training will be provided to ensure this is being achieved.

I would be happy to discuss this with you further. You can contact me at gm@phortambo.com.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located just across the freeway from the airport, perhaps a 10 minute ride. Not walkable. You can catch a free shuttle at the transit area that runs to and from the airport every half hour. We were assigned to a room at 10:00PM that had not yet been cleaned and were then sent to a handicapped room which was all that was available at that time of night. Fortunately that room was clean and we had a good sleep. Breakfast is a nice buffet that is apparently set up for tour groups and included in their room rate. We were travelling on our own and so breakfast was not included and they had no separate menu for those of us who just wanted a light breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Nan2010

We appreciate your feedback and comments posted on TripAdvisor.

The close proximity to the airport, as well as the complimentary scheduled shuttles, is very convenient for travellers.

It is disappointing to hear of your experience when checking into your room. You should have been welcomed by a clean room immediately. I am glad that the STAFF was able to move you to an alternative room where you could get some rest.

The breakfast setup is standard every morning and if it is not included in the rate, GUESTS are welcome to sign it to the room and settle at check out.

Thank you and please visit us when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booking was confirmed, first room had however a air conditioner problem so I was asked to move to another room. Room service food ordered through the bar restaurant was really top quality and on time! Compared with other Protea hotels, not making my top list though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easyref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Easyref

An average experience is certainly not we aim to provide and I am extremely sorry that you felt this way. I will be sharing your feedback with the TEAM to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

However, it is still positive that you enjoyed the room service and its speedy arrival.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience directly. You can contact me at gm@phortambo.com.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service. So handy if you're transiting through Jo'berg or have an early out or late flight in. Staff were really nice, room was clean and tidy, worth the money and very convenient! Food was good to. The airport transfer is extremely handy. If you are coming out of arrivals ignore the well dressed people telling you to follow them, they're dodgy. Go to the information desk to get the directions for the transfer bus!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katsmi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear katsmi12

What a fantastic review, Thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor.

There is no doubt that our location is extremely convenient for travelers arriving late or leaving early. I am pleased that in addition to our location, the STAFF was so friendly.

The chef and TEAM know the importance of a full tank for travels, work or sightseeing. They will be thrilled that you enjoyed their delicious creations so much.

All airport personnel are aware of the transfers that we offer and will gladly point GUESTS in the right direction.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

we booked a night with the hotel on 'wotif' and were told when we arrived that we had no booking even though i had my confirmation paperwork etc with me. the staff showed no interest at all and we were handed over to 3 different staff members, each as hopeless as the last. after 45 minutes they told me i had to pay for another room and that they would match the rate of the booking that had 'never been received'. of course the so called matched price was higher & didn't include breakfast...they fixed this...or so i thought. upon checkout they tried to charge for the free breakfast so this was another 15 minute wait to get the bill adjusted. i might add that the breakfast serving was not ready anyway so we left eating very little.
Overall, the worst hotel experience ever. i would also add that during our very long wait at check in i was astounded at the number of people that had issues with their bill on checkout. of the 5 people i saw check out 4 had 'extras' that appeared on their bill that had to be taken off.
this was a very poor welcome to South Africa. or first night in and we felt like we had been ripped off.
there are many other hotel options at the airport & i would suggest try any but this one.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear mark h

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.

It is extremely disappointing to hear of your experience and please accept my sincere apologies; this is certainly not the standard of service we are usually so proud to offer.

I would like to assure you that I have sat with the entire TEAM to discuss your comments and we will be liaising with all relevant parties to ensure that this does not occur again.

Your feedback is valuable and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. You can contact me directly at gm@phortambo.com.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Room lovely, and surprisingly quiet given view of highway and airport. Staff didn't communicate breakfast not included until after it had been eaten and I had returned to my room. Restaurant staff assured me it was included... Shuttle from airport overcrowded, and left many guests waiting. For the price, stay at one of the hotels attached to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear pmc81

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It will assist us with our ongoing search for excellence and ability to provide the best GUEST service.

I am extremely sorry for the miscommunication which caused your frustration. This is an unacceptable error, which will be attended to with all STAFF.

I am however please that you found the room to peaceful and quiet.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent one night here before starting our South African tour. Really liked it, lovely pool area (although it was too cold to use it ). Bedrooms spacious with an unusual open plan shower . Although it was beside the airport our rooms were at the back and were very quiet. The bed was very comfortable with lovely crisp bed linen.We had a buffet dinner for 150 rand( approx £10) There wasn't much choice but it was all very tasty . Nice Buffet breakfast in the morning .
There was free internet up to 500mb per day in the rooms and it worked well .
The only negative was that the reception staff seemed a bit disorganized and took a long time to get us our rooms .

Room Tip: get room at back to avoid airport noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear holidayseeker

It’s a pity you weren’t able to use the pool as it is still winter in South Africa. However, I hope that your next trip will be in the summer and then the sun will be shining.

Peace and quiet is a must when getting rest and I am happy your rooms provided this for you. Ofcourse, the comfortable and crisp linen helped as well.

I apologise for your disappointment with the dinner buffet and the slow check in. This is certainly not we are usually proud to offer and will be addressed with the TEAM immediately.

I hope that you had an amazing trip to South Africa.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $82 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star airport hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. The industrial aviation ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing