We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with views of the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel with views of the airport”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel staff were all very nice, the room we stayed in was very clean, the shower and bedroom is seperated by a big curtain which was not a problem, the toilet is in its seperate room which was good.

The facilities were good, with free wi-fi and a big lounge/bar area overlooking the pool and outdoor area, there is also a business centre with a computer and free coffee.
The outdoor area is very large with grassed area and quite a large pool and some comfy seating areas around the area.
Accross the road from the pool is the airport and you can see a few planes which provides some entertainment.

The area we had dinner was accross from the bar area, the food was excellent and the service was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benclear100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear benclear100

What a great review and I am so happy that you had such a wonderful time during your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport.

From clean and comfortable rooms, 100mb free Wi-Fi, business facilities and complimentary coffee; you definitely managed to fit in some of the great aspects that make our hotel so special. Not to mention the refreshing outdoor area with pool and delicious food that the Chef and TEAM offer.

Thank you for your feedback and we wish you a safe trip back to Australia.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    477
    179
    82
    25
See reviews for
89
404
124
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The theme of the hotel seems to be "airplane". There is a free shuttle from the airport, every half and every full hour. Follow the ,Bus " sign. The last one leaves at 23.00. The rooms are modern, no carpet. The shower and the bed are actually in the same room. We had two rooms, one was perfect, in the other one we had problems with the flushing. But the staff is very helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear xonthebeach

We are so proud of our aviation theme throughout the hotel that definitely sets us apart from the rest. It is great that you enjoyed this aspect and thank you for commenting on TripAdvisor.

Our open plan designed rooms aim to provide GUESTS with more space in the room. I apologise that the flushing in the one room caused you some problems. However, I am happy that the TEAM was helpful and managed to correct it.

The shuttles make a stopover in Johannesburg that much easier. They run from 06h00 to 23h00 everyday between the airport and the hotel.

I trust you had a successful trip to South Africa and hope you have safe trip home.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very close to the airport, but not much else. Nice outdoor area for drinks. Free wifi but didn't work very well. Friendly staff. Good place for being close to airport for leaving early or arriving late. Room was fairly small with 2 twin beds. Nice bar and breakfast area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear belllasadie

We value GUEST feedback and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Our location near the airport is definitely convenient, especially when leaving very early or late just as you mentioned. The complimentary scheduled shuttles also assist with making things as smooth as possible.

I am sorry that the Wi-Fi did not work as well as you would have liked. We are very aware of the importance of internet access for GUESTS and will look in to this issue immediately.

As far as the rest of your stay, I will definitely congratulate the STAFF as they continue to provide the best GUEST service and your comments affirm that.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for staying with Protea Hotels during your trip to South Africa and I hope you enjoyed your safari.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've spent lots of time in airport hotels around the world. Usually, in the name of familiarity or standardization, these hotels can be described in one word: bland. The Protera at the OR Tambo Airport is not--and what a pleasant surprise. It has a unique airport hangar/industrial design vibe without ever feeling like you're in a theme park. Lovely pool, good food, pleasant meeting space and friendly staff...not to mention quiet rooms and clean and comfortable beds. A treat was the lovely freestanding bathtub. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMessenger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear TravelMessenger68

It was such a pleasure to read your review and thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor.

We are anything but bland, and as you mentioned we have an aviation theme that runs through the hotel to try and give GUESTS a unique experience.

In addition to this, I am thrilled that you enjoyed our relaxing pool and the friendly STAFF. They continuously aim for service excellence and will be delighted to hear of your compliments.

I hope you had a great trip to South Africa and safe travels home.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not a good hotel to share rooms. Was there on conference and the shower is in the bedroom with clear glass walls. Fortunately the toilet was separate with a frosted glass door. The walls had finger marks where you could see the cleaner had put her fingers on the walls to balance as she bent down. The toilet walls had water marks running down as well which appeared to be spray from when she pulled the toilet brush out of the toilet bowl and it flicked up against the wall. This was reported to reception and housekeeping on alternate days. It was not rectified before checking out (room 118), although we were there for 3 days. Towels and water were only supplied for one person, every day we had to phone housekeeping for more. Towels were grey (supposed to be white). Key card had to be reprogrammed daily "as we should have informed recption that we were sharing" although they had us on their register as sharing!!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have double glazing. very quiet even though it is right next to OR Thambo airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurbanHappyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear DurbanHappyWanderer

GUEST feedback plays an important role in the success of our hotel and we appreciate your comments posted on TripAdvisor.

I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience and the below par service that you received. There is no excuse for the concerns that you have identified regarding the watermarks, lack of towels and the room key. It is our aim to provide the best GUEST service and I can assure you that I have already addressed this matter with the housekeeping and front office TEAM.

I am however glad that your room was quiet and you could get some rest.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further at gm@phortambo.com.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is fine. Service was acceptable. The promised free airport transfers are at the convenience of the hotel and it does not suit them to start early. Despite 10 guests requiring transport each was required to pay for their own transfers at 05:00am. This was a disappointing end to an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Peter S

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and posting a comment on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and that the majority of your stay was pleasant.

Our complimentary shuttles to and from the airport are scheduled and run between 06h00 and 23h00. Unfortunately it is not always possible to transfer GUESTS to and from the airport before or after these times and therefore we sometimes make use of either taxis or paid transfers.

I apolgise if this caused you any inconvenience and you are welcome to contact me directly at gm@phortrambo.com to discuss this further.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for one night after a flight from Australia. Free shuttle to and from the aiport was great. Hotel was a quirky aviation theme. Room different with a shower in the actual bedroom with seperate toilet. screen to sheild the shower though but easy if with your other half. Nice pool and outdoor space ifthere in time for the sun. Restaurant standard hotel food. Small gym aswell.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukguysdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Ukguysdownunder

Thank you for posting such a detailed review on so many of the aspects to be enjoyed at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport.

Our complimentary scheduled shuttles to and from the airport make a GUESTS stay that much easier and less stressful. I am thrilled to hear that you benefitted from this.

All your positive comments on the other areas from the rooms, bathroom, pool and restaurant are all appreciated and I will be sharing them with the entire TEAM.

I hope to welcome you back soon and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Southern Africa.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing