We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel for a transit, found the design original (planes history in an industrial layout). Room looked OK, large, nice shower, as well as very comfortable bed, but the window is a single layer glass!!!! just in front of the airport and highway, very noisy if you are sensitive to sound! to be avoided,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DZ_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Rafik B

Thank you for your comments and appreciation for our unique aviation theme throughout the hotel.

We understand how important a good night’s rest is and I am therefore truly sorry for the noise that disturbed you during your stay. We receive minimal GUEST comments regarding the noise levels but your feedback is important to us and I will definitely be looking into this area.

Furthermore, your positive comments towards the rooms and large shower, as well as a comfortable bed are welcomed and true to the quality we are proud to offer.

I hope the rest of your travels went well and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is situated very convenient close to the airport. The staff working in the bar and restaurant are wonderful and very efficient. The food lovely and the breakfast perfect with lots to choose between.
However, the staff in the reception had a quite a bad attitude. I arrived around 11am and asked if there was a room available. It was not and she pointed out that the check in time was 2pm. I was aware of that and understood. After one hour I asked again and still no room. Another hour later, still no room. I got my room at 2pm. I could accept this if it was not for that I saw at least 10 people that got their room long time before me and they got there later than I. Could it be because I book and paid through an travel agency and it was cheaper? I don't know. When checking out I asked for a plaster/band aid. Did I get one? No. They didn't have any. I have stayed in this hotel many times before but I will not go there anymore.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Pellerina

As you mentioned, our location is really special as it is close to the airport and gives GUESTS an aviation experience to remember.

Thank you for mentioning the wonderful and efficient STAFF that you encountered in some areas of the hotel. However, I would like to apologise about the issue regarding your check in and your disappointing interaction with the STAFF. I assure you that I have already scheduled them all for additional training as offering the best GUEST service is a high priority. We have also implemented daily checks of the first aid boxes to ensure we never run out of plasters again.

Compliments towards the delicious food and breakfast selection are appreciated and will only provide the chef with inspiration and motivation to continue providing the freshest produce.

I do hope to welcome you back again during your next trip.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed one night whilst transiting through Johannesburg.

The reception staff were helpful and polite and the process smooth.

The rooms are perfectly good but the shower in the room does need some thought but once you accept it the rooms are nice and work well.

The food is of a good standard and the service and staff were very nice.

As a transit hotel I would stay again but not for an extended stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidiafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear davidiafrica

I am glad to hear that you had a positive stop over at our hotel during your recent trip to South Africa.

When travelling in a foreign country, it helps when one is welcomed by helpful and polite people, and the STAFF which you mentioned is exactly that. They thrive on providing a warm and friendly environment, as well as offering the best GUEST service.

The shower in the room is a unique design element to provide the GUEST with more space within the room. It is great that you were able to enjoy the benefits of this as well as the other room amenities.

Thank you for your review and I wish you safe travels back to the United Kingdom.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed before and after a trip to Kruger and had stayed once before.
The location is good, the hotel has a shuttle - just outside Arrivals and clearly signposted, just behind the Intercontinental Hotel - which runs every 30 mins.
I arrived mid morning but my room was ready.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. From the moment you arrive you feel welcome.
The rooms are clean and modern. There is a super restaurant offering good, well priced food. A special mention for Thabo the cook. Cheerful and smiling the whole time.
Free wi fi with a decent allowance.
Lovely pool area with spacious grounds and comfortable seats.
This is a great hotel, leisure or business, families, couples or singles.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtravellersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Simon W

We are so happy to have welcomed you back and are grateful for such a fantastic review.

It seems that your stay with us was a home run from beginning to end. Our shuttle service that picks up and drops off at the airport is a real bonus and GUESTS continue to show their appreciation for it. We are therefore delighted that you found it convenient and as you mentioned, the shuttles go to and from the airport every half hour – ensuring GUESTS have sufficient time to catch their flight. Currently, the first one leaves the hotel at 06h15 and the last one leaves from the airport is at 22h30.

Our facilities in the hotel; be it the restaurant, swimming pool or comfortable rooms are what we are known for and so proud to offer. To top that off, your comments regarding the ‘friendly and helpful’ STAFF are welcomed and affirm that we are achieving our goal of offering the best GUEST service.

Thank you for your review and I hope that you had a safe trip back to the United Kingdom.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to this hotel as couples and the theme of the hotel is amazing, as well as staff, breakfast and everything. I recommend this hotel to anyone business or leisure, thank you very much Protea O.R Tambo

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnyakeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Mnyakeni M

What a spectacular review. Thank you so much for your support and positive comments.

Being a neighbour to the airport, it only seemed fitting to incorporate an aviation theme throughout the hotel; from the unique pieces of art in the lobby, to the views of the runway from the rooms. I am so glad that you enjoyed the theme as much as we do.

An all-round positive experience is part of our search for excellence and what we strive to achieve for every GUEST. Your comments confirm that we are on the right path and the STAFF will be pleased and motivated by your feedback.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed here after arriving from a long and late flight from Amsterdam. We had been traveling 24+ hrs, planned to drive to Kruger Park the next day, and wanted a good night's sleep. This hotel gave us exactly that. It is modern without being cold. It is conveniently located. It is clean. The breakfast buffet was good with a lot of choices and I didn't think it was expensive compared to other standard hotel breakfast buffets in the US. The shuttle was convenient, but note that it is not available 24 hrs, I think the last pick up from the airport is at 10 pm. We didn't take it from the airport and got dropped off at the car rental place so I don't know exactly where the shuttle stop is, but I think I remember reading it's behind the InterCon hotel. For your reference, when you leave the airport, the InterCon is immediately in front of you (you just have to cross a couple of pedestrian lanes) so the stop should be very easy to locate.

Overall a great hotel for the purpose of spending a night near OR Tambo.

Room Tip: We arranged for a "meet and greet" for 450 rands through the hotel but no one showed up...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdavidohoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear mdavidohoh

You certainly travelled for a lengthy time and I am sure that it was exhausting. It was our pleasure to be able to provide you with the perfect location and comfortable beds for the night.

I would like to apologise for the “meet and greet” that you requested, but did not seem to arrive. I would like to further investigate this matter and ask if you could contact me directly via email to provide me with more details at gm@phortambo.com. Currently our shuttles go to and from the airport every half hour. The first one leaves the hotel at 06h15 and the last one leaves from the airport at 22h30.

We are proud of our breakfast offering which does include a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. All of which are imperative for travellers to fill up their tanks for the next leg of the journey. In your case, I am glad to see that you and your sister had a successful trip to the Kruger National Park. Maybe on your next visit you will be able to catch a glimpse of that illusive leopard.

Thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe trip back to Washington.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This airport hotel is fine for a stopover, the breakfast is good and the transportation is on-time.

If you are looking for something more upscale, there is an Intercontinental within walking distance of the terminal.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear SRR74

Getting some well-deserved rest between flights definitely helps during stopovers. Take a short drive with our complimentary scheduled transfer to and from the airport and we will have you relaxing in no time.

Thank you for you positive comments regarding our breakfast offering. A comfortable bed and tasty breakfast are key ingredients for a successful stay over.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#16 of 26 in Kempton Park
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $95 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing