We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All round excellent”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed before and after a trip to Kruger and had stayed once before.
The location is good, the hotel has a shuttle - just outside Arrivals and clearly signposted, just behind the Intercontinental Hotel - which runs every 30 mins.
I arrived mid morning but my room was ready.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. From the moment you arrive you feel welcome.
The rooms are clean and modern. There is a super restaurant offering good, well priced food. A special mention for Thabo the cook. Cheerful and smiling the whole time.
Free wi fi with a decent allowance.
Lovely pool area with spacious grounds and comfortable seats.
This is a great hotel, leisure or business, families, couples or singles.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravellersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Simon W

We are so happy to have welcomed you back and are grateful for such a fantastic review.

It seems that your stay with us was a home run from beginning to end. Our shuttle service that picks up and drops off at the airport is a real bonus and GUESTS continue to show their appreciation for it. We are therefore delighted that you found it convenient and as you mentioned, the shuttles go to and from the airport every half hour – ensuring GUESTS have sufficient time to catch their flight. Currently, the first one leaves the hotel at 06h15 and the last one leaves from the airport is at 22h30.

Our facilities in the hotel; be it the restaurant, swimming pool or comfortable rooms are what we are known for and so proud to offer. To top that off, your comments regarding the ‘friendly and helpful’ STAFF are welcomed and affirm that we are achieving our goal of offering the best GUEST service.

Thank you for your review and I hope that you had a safe trip back to the United Kingdom.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    484
    184
    82
    25
See reviews for
90
411
127
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to this hotel as couples and the theme of the hotel is amazing, as well as staff, breakfast and everything. I recommend this hotel to anyone business or leisure, thank you very much Protea O.R Tambo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnyakeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Mnyakeni M

What a spectacular review. Thank you so much for your support and positive comments.

Being a neighbour to the airport, it only seemed fitting to incorporate an aviation theme throughout the hotel; from the unique pieces of art in the lobby, to the views of the runway from the rooms. I am so glad that you enjoyed the theme as much as we do.

An all-round positive experience is part of our search for excellence and what we strive to achieve for every GUEST. Your comments confirm that we are on the right path and the STAFF will be pleased and motivated by your feedback.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed here after arriving from a long and late flight from Amsterdam. We had been traveling 24+ hrs, planned to drive to Kruger Park the next day, and wanted a good night's sleep. This hotel gave us exactly that. It is modern without being cold. It is conveniently located. It is clean. The breakfast buffet was good with a lot of choices and I didn't think it was expensive compared to other standard hotel breakfast buffets in the US. The shuttle was convenient, but note that it is not available 24 hrs, I think the last pick up from the airport is at 10 pm. We didn't take it from the airport and got dropped off at the car rental place so I don't know exactly where the shuttle stop is, but I think I remember reading it's behind the InterCon hotel. For your reference, when you leave the airport, the InterCon is immediately in front of you (you just have to cross a couple of pedestrian lanes) so the stop should be very easy to locate.

Overall a great hotel for the purpose of spending a night near OR Tambo.

Room Tip: We arranged for a "meet and greet" for 450 rands through the hotel but no one showed up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdavidohoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear mdavidohoh

You certainly travelled for a lengthy time and I am sure that it was exhausting. It was our pleasure to be able to provide you with the perfect location and comfortable beds for the night.

I would like to apologise for the “meet and greet” that you requested, but did not seem to arrive. I would like to further investigate this matter and ask if you could contact me directly via email to provide me with more details at gm@phortambo.com. Currently our shuttles go to and from the airport every half hour. The first one leaves the hotel at 06h15 and the last one leaves from the airport at 22h30.

We are proud of our breakfast offering which does include a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. All of which are imperative for travellers to fill up their tanks for the next leg of the journey. In your case, I am glad to see that you and your sister had a successful trip to the Kruger National Park. Maybe on your next visit you will be able to catch a glimpse of that illusive leopard.

Thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe trip back to Washington.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This airport hotel is fine for a stopover, the breakfast is good and the transportation is on-time.

If you are looking for something more upscale, there is an Intercontinental within walking distance of the terminal.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear SRR74

Getting some well-deserved rest between flights definitely helps during stopovers. Take a short drive with our complimentary scheduled transfer to and from the airport and we will have you relaxing in no time.

Thank you for you positive comments regarding our breakfast offering. A comfortable bed and tasty breakfast are key ingredients for a successful stay over.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night as transit passengers to Namibia and were quite impressed by the hotel in general. The decor is funky, hip airplane hangar themed. The spotlessly clean rooms have the most incredibly comfortable beds and a very unique shower area that would probably be more suitable for couples as opposed to two friends or family members traveling, as it is all glass and right next to the bed. There is a White curtain to separate it, but the curtain is translucent when the room light is on. Thank goodness the toilet is separate and has an actual door. They provide nice amenities as well such as free wifi, flat screen tvs, room safes and coffee/tea makers.

The location is very close to the airport, about a 10 minute drive. There is not much around except for some car dealerships, but I wouldn't want to walk around there late at night anyway.

The restaurant food was tasty, plentiful, and very affordable, but the service was a bit slow. We waited over 20 minutes for our dinner entrees to arrive. The other issue we had was with our shuttle. Although they provide a free shuttle, there is no way to call the hotel and have them come to the airport. They are on a schedule (which is plastered on the wall near the pick-up area), but the shuttle didn't showed up on time. It is supposed to come every 15 minutes, but we waited over an hour. It finally showed up, and the driver made an excuse that he had to get gas. For an hour??? That made no sense to us. The return shuttle to the airport was fast and efficient though, so it made up for the night before.

Other than that shuttle issue, we loved the hotel. The service in the hotel itself was friendly, and our room was comfortable and clean. The price was under $100/night for us, so all in all it was a good value. If ever transiting in Joburg in the future, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear NYCityZen

Your awesome review title and 4-star rating are very welcome and we thank you for the review.

Setting positive impressions is important to the TEAM and your reaction to the aviation theme décor is great to hear. On top of that, I am pleased that the rooms were comfortable and clean and met your needs.

I am sorry for the inconvenience regarding the airport shuttle. It currently goes to and from the airport every half hour. The first one leaves the hotel at 06h15 and the last one leaves from the airport is at 22h30. However, your successful return trip seemed to have cleared everything up.

Offering our GUESTS value for money, in combination with friendly and efficient STAFF, is important to us. Your recommendation of our offering to others is appreciated.

Have a safe trip back to the United States of America.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed in a suite on the 5th floor, excellent setup in the room
everything is luxurious in our room
the food is great
There is so much space around the pool,kids can run around and enjoy playing
The view towards the airport is really awesome, my family enjoyed watching the airplanes take off and land. You can watch alot of activity in the airport from your room.
The room is nice and quiet. Easy to relax and get some rest.
This is not just a hotel you come to sleep over, you can really do alot here and enjoy a couple of days away from home

Room Tip: get a room facing the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Johnathan N

Thank you for staying with Protea Hotels during December. We appreciate your loyalty and are glad they you have had such enjoyable stays throughout.

Your review of Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport was such a pleasure to read. You highlighted so many positive aspects and features of the hotel, which really puts a smile on the faces of the entire TEAM – who are so proud of the Hotel.

Our location near the airport is different and offers GUESTS an aviation extravaganza and perspective rarely seen. I am glad that you found your room to be peaceful, serene and noise free. It is also pleasing to hear that the entire family had fun at the hotel and the kids were able to play around the pool area.

We wish you a Happy New Year!

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was a wonderful stay - though I was disappointed that my room didn't have a tub - just a shower.
And then the toilet was a mission for flush....
I loved the "airport-type" architecture, and the entire set-up is magnificent. :)
The shuttle service to the airport is quite handy! :)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a bathtub!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear radlegend

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you were looking forward to having a bath tub in your room. On your next stay with us, please request a room with a bath tub and shower and we will allocate one to you if it is available.

Our airport theme is a hit with aviation enthusiasts and I am happy to hear that you found it ‘magnificent’. Thank you for complimenting us on our free scheduled transfers to the airport.

We wish you safe travels and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#16 of 26 in Kempton Park
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing