We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful architecture and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was a wonderful stay - though I was disappointed that my room didn't have a tub - just a shower.
And then the toilet was a mission for flush....
I loved the "airport-type" architecture, and the entire set-up is magnificent. :)
The shuttle service to the airport is quite handy! :)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a bathtub!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear radlegend

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you were looking forward to having a bath tub in your room. On your next stay with us, please request a room with a bath tub and shower and we will allocate one to you if it is available.

Our airport theme is a hit with aviation enthusiasts and I am happy to hear that you found it ‘magnificent’. Thank you for complimenting us on our free scheduled transfers to the airport.

We wish you safe travels and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    449
    168
    71
    23
See reviews for
82
380
118
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loomis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for a couple of nights before flying out of Johannesburg. Near the airport. Rooms were very modern, staff was great and the food was really good. Concierge was great, set me up with a tour of the Apartheid Museum. Great place to stay if you need a place near the airport - has free shuttle services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Martha W

STAFF plays an important role in the success of our hotel and your comments speak volumes on the efforts that the TEAM is making on a daily basis. I will commend the STAFF accordingly and believe that this will assist us to continue offering the best GUEST service.

I hope that you enjoyed your trip to the Apartheid Museum and got some insight into the rich history of South Africa.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
217 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed overnight at the hotel while transiting through Jo'burg. The hotel has a shuttle which takes you from/to the airport and is within 10 min drive. The hotel is modern and has a nice bar and restaurant at the lobby level and a small gym in the basement. The room is small but modern and adequate. Didn't get to try the breakfast as I had to leave early. Will stay here when I transit in Joburg again.

Room Tip: Choose a room which looks out into the parking lot which are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuttappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Kuttappi

As a transiting GUEST, transport to and from a hotel is the last thing one needs to worry about. I am pleased that our complimentary shuttle, which goes to the airport every half hour, was of benefit to you during your stay.

The TEAM will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and bar and maybe next time you will be able to give our breakfast spread a try.

We love GUEST feedback and would like to thank you for your comments.

Have a safe trip back to Vienna and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent only a night here, we had to overnight at the airport in between flights. We picked this hotel based on the reviews from Tripadvisor.
The hotel has a shuttle from the airport that runs every half hour. It is a little tricky to find the shuttle but you have to follow the signs for 'buses'.
The hotel decor is modern and functional. Be aware that the shower has a glass wall, in case you are sharing a room with friends. The bed is very comfortable and even though the hotel is very close to the airport, we did not hear noise from the planes.
They offer free internet in the room (75mb for every 24 hours).
The front desk personnel were very kind and helpful.
Overall, a great stay. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter_DBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Globetrotter_DBA

We are only too happy to provide our GUESTS with a convenient location and comfortable rooms during their stay with us; whether for short stopovers or during lengthy business trips.

“Modern and functional” is a great way to describe the aviation theme that runs throughout the hotel and sets the tone for an enjoyable stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your bed and tranquility in your room. Our showers do have glass walls; however, there are privacy curtains that one can use should you be sharing with someone.

Our 100mb free daily WiFi and the “kind and helpful” STAFF are some of the wonderful aspects one can find at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport.

Thank you for your positive comments and recommendation. We wish you safe travels and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The reception area is fresh and modern whilst upholding some African ambiance. Free coffee/tea's available to all and the food is cheap and delicious- very good value for money albeit service is a little slow.

Pool area is quite something with views of the planes and loungers on platforms with the water surrounding them like islands.

Good atmosphere for essentially a stopover hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deluxetrolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear deluxetrolley

Thank you so much for your review and for highlighting our unique location near the OR Tambo Airport.

There is nothing like a good cup of tea or coffee whilst taking some time out with a book or winding down. I am so glad that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities and also had a chance to taste some of the CHEF’s tantalizing meals. However, I do apologise for the below par service that you received and will be addressing this issue immediately.

I like how you describe our pool loungers like mini islands. Part of the benefit of being close to the airport is being able to watch the planes as they maneuver the runway and land with ease.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you have safe travels over the festive season.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has great staff, tasty food and comfortable beds! A good stop over between flights, or the perfect spot for conference stays. I was given this recommendation through a friend and would more than happily recommend it to others! Thank you!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank liffie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear liffie1

What a great picture to upload. I love those stickers and they always manage to make me laugh.

I am delighted to hear about your recent stay and all the positive aspects about it. Your review paints a picture that is a true reflection of our hotel; “great staff, tasty food and comfortable beds”. The STAFF do their best every day and your comments will definitely motivate them to continue doing so.

Thank you for your recommendation and I hope you enjoyed your journeys through Africa.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a quick stopover here when arriving in SA. The place is fresh, modern, awesomely de orated and professionally run. Rooms we well equipped with all amenities and very comfortable. Cool outside area views of the airport, although a little noisy from the road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Kerron F

Providing an environment for GUESTS to relax and recharge during their travels is one of our daily objectives. It is with this in mind that I thank you for your positive review and comments regarding our ‘fresh, modern and professionally run’ hotel.

Our unique location, just minutes from OR Tambo International Airport provides GUESTS with an aviation experience to remember with views of the runway and stationary aeroplanes. I am pleased that you enjoyed the views and our pool area.

I hope you had a safe trip home and the TEAM looks forward to seeing you during your next trip to South Africa.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing